Racing book semi-final spot

Date published: June 12 2016

Racing 92 secured a place in the Top 14 semi-finals after claiming a 21-16 victory over Toulouse at Stade Yves du Manoir in Colombes on Saturday.

As the scoreline suggests, this was a hard-fought battle and although Touluose outscored their hosts by one try to none, Racing fly-half Dan Carter paved the way to victory with a 16-point contribution via six penalties.

He laid the foundation during the opening half, when he traded penalties with Toulouse scrum-half Sebastien Bezy but Carter had the better of that battle which meant the hosts led 12-6.

The second half saw more of the same as Bezy narrowed the gap to three points with another three-pointer from the kicking tee shortly after the restart.

Racing struck back with their fifth penalty, five minutes later, with Johan Goosen landing a monster effort from close to the halfway mark.

Carter then made the score 18-9 in the 64th minute with his sixth three-pointer but Toulouse struck back shortly afterwards with a Gael Fickou try which Bezy converted.

This meant Racing held a slender 18-16 lead in the game's closing stages but Carter secured victory with another penalty five minutes before full-time.

The result means Racing will now face Clermont in their semi-final in Rennes on June 17.

The scorers:

For Racing 92:
Carter 6, Goosen

For Toulouse:
Con: Bezy
Pens: Bezy 3

The teams:

Racing 92: 15 Brice Dulin, 14 Joe Rokocoko, 13 Johan Goosen, 12 Henry Chavancy, 11 Juan Imhoff, 10 Dan Carter, 9 Maxime Machenaud, 8 Antonie Claassen, 7 Yannick Nyanga Kabasele, 6 Wenceslas Lauret, 5 Manuel Carizza, L 4 Bernard Le Roux, 3 Ben Tameifuna, 2 Dimitri Szarzewski, 1 Eddy Ben Arous 
Replacements: 16 Camille Chat, 17 Khatchik Vartanov, 18 Juandre Kruger, 19 Luc Barba, 20 Xavier Chauveau, 21 Marc Andreu, 22 Albert Vulivuli, 23 Pierre Maiau

Toulouse: 15 Maxime Medard, 14 Vincent Clerc, 13 Gael Fickou, 12 Florian Fritz, 11 Paul Perez, 10 Luke McAlister, 9 Sebastien Bezy, 8 Louis Picamoles, 7 Imanol Harinordoquy, 6 Thierry Dusautoir, 5 Joe Tekori, 4 Yoann Maestri, 3 Census Johnston, 2 Corey Flynn, 1 Gurthro Steenkamp 
Replacements: 16 Christopher Tolofua, 17 Cyril Baille, 18 Gregory Lamboley, 19 Talalelei Gray, 20 Gillian Galan, 21 Jean Marc Doussain, 22 Yann David, 23 Dorian Aldegheri

Referee: Pascal Gauzère