Priestland at 10 for Wales

Date published: September 18 2015

Wales head coach Warren Gatland has named his team for their Rugby World Cup Pool A match against Uruguay at the Millennium Stadium on Sunday.

Wales welcome back Scarlets duo Liam Williams and Samson Lee from injury.

Williams starts at full-back and will form a back-three alongside Alex Cuthbert and Hallam Amos. Cory Allen and Scott Williams make-up the midfield partnership.

Rhys Priestland will play in his second Rugby World Cup and starts alongside former regional teammate Gareth Davies.

In the front-row, Lee returns at tighthead and features along with Ospreys duo Paul James and Scott Baldwin. Jake Ball and Luke Charteris pack down in the second-row whilst there is a new look back row with captain Sam Warburton starting at blindside flanker alongside Justin Tipuric and James King at number eight.

"The squad are extremely excited to kick their Rugby World Cup campaign off on Sunday," said Gatland.

"Playing in a World Cup, in your home country, at your home ground is a great honour and I'm sure the players will take that into the game.

"Uruguay will be looking to show what they are capable of and we know we need to be clinical on Sunday.
"It is great to have Liam and Samson back in the starting line-up. They have trained incredibly hard and Sunday is a great opportunity for them.

"It's a great opportunity for all the players and it's an exciting time ahead."

Wales: 15 Liam Williams, 14 Alex Cuthbert, 13 Cory Allen, 12 Scott Williams, 11 Hallam Amos, 10 Rhys Priestland, 9 Gareth Davies, 8 James King, 7 Justin Tipuric, 6 Sam Warburton (c), 5 Luke Charteris, 4 Jake Ball, 3 Samson Lee, 2 Scott Baldwin, 1 Paul James. 

Replacements: 16 Ken Owens, 17 Aaron Jarvis, 18 Tom Francis, 19 Dominic Day, 20 Dan Lydiate, 21 Ross Moriarty, 22 Lloyd Williams, 23 Matthew Morgan.

Date: Sunday, September 20
Venue: Millennium Stadium
Kick-off: 14:30 local (13:30 GMT)
Referee: Romain Poite (France)
Assistant referees: Pascal Gauzère (France), Mathieu Raynal (France)
Television match official: Ben Skeen (New Zealand)