Preview: Western Province v EP Kings

Date published: October 8 2015

As the Currie Cup enters its final week before the semi-finals, Western Province will be looking for much needed momentum ahead of their final four clash.

The men from the south suffered a massive defeat at the hands of the Golden Lions last week, with the undefeated side running in nine tries.

Western Province have already made the play-offs, but a win could see them secure a home semi-final should the Blue Bulls slip up against the Pumas.

Springbok centre Juan de Jongh will lead his side out at Newlands on Friday, with Sevens star Seabelo Senatla and Johnny Kotze being rested due to niggling injuries.

As a result, U21 player Leolin Zass will have an opportunity to prove himself on the left wing. The good news for the home side is that flyer Dillyn Leyds has fully recovered from his groin strain and will start in the 15 jersey.

Meanwhile, the visitors will be without stalwarts Tim Whitehead and Steven Sykes. Ronnie Cooke and Stefan Willemse have their work cut out to fill the experience void, with Cooke taking over the captaincy from Whitehead.

In terms of form, the Kings can draw confidence from leading 20-17 at halftime against the Blue Bulls at Loftus Versveld last week. 

However, Brent Janse van Rensburg's men are yet to win away from home this season and they will be hard pressed to do so in front of the Newlands faithful.

Prediction: With Western Province eager to please ahead of the semi-finals, we are backing them to win by 15!

Western Province: 15 Dillyn Leyds, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Huw Jones, 12 Juan de Jongh (c), 11 Leolin Zas, 10 Robert du Preez, 9 Godlen Masimla, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 6 Jurie van Vuuren, 5 Chris Van Zyl, 4 Jean Kleyn, 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Michael Willemse, 1 Oliver Kebble.
Replacements: 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Steven Kitshoff, 18 Jan de Klerk, 19 Justin Benn, 20 Nic Groom, 21 Kurt Coleman, 22 Jaco Taute.

EP Kings: 15 Scott van Breda, 14 Sylvian Mahuza, 13 Ronnie Cooke (captain), 12 JP du Plessis, 11 Luther Obi/Siviwe Soyizwapi, 10 Elgar Watts, 9 Enrico Acker, 8 Tim Agaba, 7 Jacques Engelbrecht, 6 Thembelani Bholi, 5 Cornell Hess, 4 Stefan Willemse/Tazz Fuzani, 3 Simon Kerrod, 2 Edgar Marutlulle, 1 Lizo Gqoboka
Replacements: 16 Martin Ferreira, 17 Schalk Ferreira, 18 Basil Short, 19 David Bulbring, 20 Paul Schoeman, 21 Dwayne Kelly, 22 Karlo Aspeling

Date: Friday, October 9
Venue: Newlands, Cape Town
Kick-off: 18.00 (16.00 GMT)
Referee: Pro Logoete
Assistant referees: tbc
TMO: tbc