Preview: Wasps v Bath

Date published: November 12 2010

Following last week's home win against Cardiff Blues in the LV= Cup, a strong Bath side travels to Adams Park to take on Wasps.

Following last week's home win against Cardiff Blues in the opening round of the LV= Cup, a strong Bath side travels to Adams Park to take on London Wasps.

Matt Banahan once again takes on the captaincy, and links up with Matt Carraro in the centres, with Jacques Boussuge and Tom Biggs outside them on the wing.

Lee Mears, Peter Short and Aaron Jarvis make their first starts since coming back from injury, whilst Sam Vesty returns to the number ten shirt.

Meanwhile, Tim Payne and Joe Worsley will cross club milestones as they collect their 200th and 300th competitive appearance for Wasps respectively.

Payne comes back into the 1st XV, after featuring on the bench last weekend against Exeter, in place of Zak Taulafo who is named in the Samoan side to face Ireland.

Worsley returns to play after recovery from a facial laceration and replaces Will Matthews. Further changes in the pack see Captain Tom Rees and Dan Ward-Smith start in the back row. Rees replaces Serge Betsen, named on the bench, whilst Ward-Smith comes in for Andy Powell who is called into the Wales side to face South Africa.

In the back division, Richard Haughton, who has recovered from a chest injury, starts on the right wing as Tom Varndell moves to the left in place of another Samoan call up in David Lemi. Dominic Waldouck forms a centre partnership with Steve Kefu in the final change to the starting XV.

On the bench, Bob Baker makes his first appearance in a match 23 this season after recovery from Glandular Fever. Charlie Davies is also named in place of Joe Simpson, who is ruled out with a tight hamstring.

“The nature of the LV=Cup means that we are still very much in the mix and a good result against Bath could well leave us in contention to make the play-offs,” said Wasps' Director of Rugby Tony Hanks.

The teams:

London Wasps:15 Jack Wallace, 14 Richard Haughton, 13 Dominic Waldouck, 12 Steve Kefu, 11 Tom Varndell, 10 Mark Van Gisbergen, 9 Nic Berry, 8 Dan Ward-Smith, 7 Tom Rees (c), 6 Joe Worsley, 5 James Cannon, 4 Marty Veale, 3 Ben Broster, 2 Rob Webber, 1 Tim Payne.
Replacements: 16 Joe Ward, 17 Shaun Ruwers, 18 Bob Baker, 19 Joe Burton, 20 Serge Betsen, 21 Charlie Davies, 22 Seb Jewell, 23 Elliot Daly.

Bath: 15 Jack Cuthbert, 14 Jacques Boussuge, 13 Matt Banahan (C), 12 Matt Carraro, 11 Tom Biggs, 10 Sam Vesty, 9 Mark McMillan, 8 Ben Skirving, 7 Guy Mercer, 6 Josh Ovens, 5 Peter Short, 4 Ignacio Fernandez-Lobbe, 3 Aaron Jarvis, 2 Lee Mears, 1 David Flatman.
Replacements:16 Ross Batty, 17 David Barnes, 18 Duncan Bell, 19 Danny Grewcock, 20 Will Skuse, 21 Michael Claassens, 22 Paul Roberts, 23 Nick Scott.

Date: Sunday, November 14
Venue: Adams Park
Kick-off: 15.00 GMT
Referee: Martin Fox