Preview: Waikato v Bay of Plenty

Date published: October 8 2014


Waikato will be without Joe Webber for their season finale against Bay of Plenty, as the winger joins up with the All Blacks Sevens.

Waikato will be without Joe Webber for their ITM Cup season finale against Bay of Plenty on Thursday, as the in-form wing joins the All Blacks Sevens.

Declan O’Donnell replaces the free-scoring back on the left wing while the other change to the backline will see Chauncy Edwardson start at centre in place of the benched Jordan Payne.

Up front there are two changes with prop Ben Tameifuna back after his five-week suspension and Josh Tyrell getting a start at number eight.

The teams:

Waikato: 15 Wharenui Hawera, 14 Regan Ware, 13 Chauncy Edwardson, 12 Anton Lienert-Brown, 11 Declan O’Donnell, 10 Damian McKenzie, 9 Brad Weber (capt), 8 Josh Tyrell, 7 Zak Hohneck, 6 Whetu Douglas, 5 Jacob Skeen, 4 Luke Katene, 3 Ben Tameifuna, 2 Hame Faiva, 1 Josh Hohneck.
Replacements: 16 Brayden Mitchell/Harry Jones, 17 Loni Uhila, 18 Nick Ross, 19 Zane Kapeli, 20 Troy Lobendahn, 21 Dylan Collier, 22 Jordan Payne.

Bay of Plenty: 15 Byron McGuigan, 14 Tino Nemani, 13 Nick Evemy, 12 Doug Edwards, 11 Siaosi Iongi, 10 Dan Hollinshead, 9 Jono Kitto, 8 Carl Axtens, 7 Hamish Gosling, 6 Johan Bardoul, 5 Tim Bond, 4 Culum Retallick (c), 3 Mike Kainga, 2 Joe Royal, 1 Solomona Sakalia.
Replacements: 16 Vyron Smith, 17 Pingi Tala’apitaga, 18 Siegfried Fisiihoi, 19 David Whitecliffe-Davies, 20 Te Aihe Toma, 21 Leroy Van Dam, 22 Kimami Sitauti.

Date: Thursday, October 9
Kick-off: 19:35 local (08:35 BST, 07:35 GMT)
Venue: Waikato Stadium, Hamilton
Referee: Garratt Williamson