Preview: Uruguay v Spain

Date published: November 16 2013

Nicolás Klappenbach will captain Uruguay when they take on close rivals Spain on Saturday in Montevideo.

Nicolás Klappenbach will captain Uruguay when they take on close rivals Spain on Saturday in Montevideo.

Ranked 21st in the IRB World Rankings just behind the visitors, Los Teros will be desperate to close the gap between themselves and Spain.

Six Test matches this year in June saw Uruguay lose out 42-33 to an Emerging Ireland side including Dave Kearney, Ian Keatley and Jack McGrath.

That followed two more defeats in Tiblisi against Georgia and a South Africa President's XV, bringing to an end a two-game winning streak.

Back in May Los Teros defeated Brazil 58-7, scoring eight tries, and picked up a 23-9 win over Chile in which Klappenbach was a try scorer.

Spain meanwhile have their sights set on overtaking Russia for the 19th spot.

Los Leones have garnered only one win from their six matches this season, including two draws against Portugal and Belgium, whilst losing out to Georgia, Romania and Russia by margins of 43, ten and four points.

Their sole victory did though come in their last match – a 26-3 win over Chile in Santiago to give Santiago Santos' team momentum.

Veterans César Sempere and Pablo Feijoo should play instrumental roles, with Feijoo scoring a brace last weekend as did second row Matt Cook.


15 Gastón Mieres, 14 Santiago Gibernau, 13 Andrés Vilaseca, 12 Alberto Román, 11 Jerónimo Etcheverry, 10 Felipe Berchesi, 9 Agustín Ormaechea, 8 Diego Magno, 7 Juan De Freitas, 6 Juan Gaminara, 5 Santiago Vilaseca, 4 Franco Lamanna, 3 Mario Sagario, 2 Nicolás Klappenbach (c), 1 Alejo Coral.
Replacements: 16 Arturo Ávalo, 17 Francisco Jiménez, 18 Rodolfo De Mula, 19 Mathías Palomeque, 20 Alejandro Nieto, 21 Fernando Bascou, 22 Alejo Durán, 23 Joaquín Prada.


15 César Sempere, 14 Marcos Poggi,13 Ignacio Contardi, 12 Javier Canosa, 11 Matías Tudela, 10 Daniel Snee, 9 Pablo Feijoo (c), 8 Federico Negrillo, 7 Glen Rolls, 6 Gauthier Gibouin, 5 Jesús Recuerda, 4 Matt Cook, 3 Jesús Moreno, 2 Fabien Rofes, 1 Beñat Auzqui.
Replacements:16 Jon Insausti, 17 Joe Hutchinson, 18 Alejandro Blanco, 19 Anibal Bonán, 20 Adam Newton, 21 Igor Genua, 22 Nil Baró, 23 Agustín Ortíz.

Date: Saturday, November 16
Kick-off: 16:30 local (14:30 GMT)
Venue: Estadio Charrúa, Montevideo
Referee: Chris Assmus (Canada)
Assistant Referees: Carlos Poggi (Arg), Martín Rodríguez (Arg)