Preview: Treviso v Zebre

Date published: December 31 2015

Treviso have made five changes to their starting line-up for Sunday's PRO12 derby with Zebre at Stadio Monigo.

In the backline their are four changes, with Tommaso Iannone taking over from Simone Ragusi on the left wing in the only change to the back three that lost narrowly in the corresponding fixture at Zebre last weekend.

The other alterations to the backline, sees Enrico Bacchin and Alberto Sgarbi replacing Iannone and Sam Christie as the starting midfield combination while Chris Smylie is preferred to Edoardo Gori at scrum-half.

In the pack, the only change is at hooker where Ornel Gega replaces Davide Giazzon while Alessandro Zanni continues to captain the side from number eight.

Meanwhile, coach Gianluca Guidi has made two changes to his run-on side.

Both changes are amongst the backs, with Guglielmo Palazzani taking over from former All Black Mils Muliaina at full-back and Ulrich Beyers comes in for Giulio Bisegni at outside centre.

Form: Treviso have lost their last 21 matches in all competitions since their home victory over Cardiff Blues in February, although their 25-28 reversal to Zebre in Parma on Sunday was their seventh losing bonus point of this campaign. Zebre have won their last two games, against La Rochelle and Treviso, but have never won three in a row since the team were formed in 2012. Zebre’s only away victory in the POR12 came when they visited Cardiff in September 2013. The two teams have now met seven times before, Zebre’s only other win apart from last Sunday's was 14-12 in Parma on 4 January 2014.

The teams:

Treviso: 15 Luke McLean, 14 Andrea Pratichetti, 13 Enrico Bacchin, 12 Alberto Sgarbi, 11 Tommaso Iannone, 10 Jayden Hayward, 9 Chris Smylie, 8 Alessandro Zanni (c), 7 Francesco Minto, 6 Marco Barbini, 5 Tom Palmer, 4 Marco Fuser, 3 Rupert Harden, 2 Ornel Gega, 1 Matteo Zanusso. 
Replacements: 16 Davide Giazzon, 17 Alberto De Marchi, 18 Salesi Manu, 19 Filo Paulo, 20 Robert Barbieri, 21 Abraham Steyn, 22 Alberto Lucchese, 23 Sam Christie

Zebre: 15 Guglielmo Palazzani, 14 Dion Berryman, 13 Ulrich Beyers, 12 Gonzalo Garcia, 11 Kayle van Zyl, 10 Carlo Canna, 9 Luke Burgess, 8 Andries Van Schalkwyk, 7 Johan Meyer, 6 Jacopo Sarto, 5 George Biagi (c), 4 Marco Bortolami, 3 Dario Chistolini, 2 Tommaso D'Apice, 1 Andrea Lovotti. 
Replacements: 16 Oliviero Fabiani, 17 Andrea De Marchi, 18 Guillermo Roan, 19 Valerio Bernabò, 20 Jean Cook, 21 Giulio Toniolatti, 22 Matteo Pratichetti, 23 Edoardo Padovani.

Date: Sunday, January 3
Venue: Stadio Monigo
Kick-off: 14:30 local (13:30 GMT)
Referee:  Nigel Owens (Wales)
Assistant Referees: Marius Mitrea (Italy), Elia Rizzo (Italy)
TMO: Carlo Damasco (Italy)