Preview: Taranaki v Hawke's Bay

Date published: September 10 2013

Taranaki will be eager to bounce back from last week's heavy defeat to Auckland with a victory against Hawke's Bay on Wednesday.

Taranaki will be keen to bounce back from last week's defeat to Auckland with a victory against Hawke's Bay at Yarrow Stadium on Wednesday.

After losing 51-15 on home soil to Wayne Pivac's side, a clash with a Championship outfit would be seen as the ideal tonic to regain confidence.

However, the Magpies were recently the Ranfurly Shield holders and possess such quality names as Gillies Kaka, Zac Guildford and Ihaia West.

Taranaki though are boosted by the return of centre Andre Taylor as Seta Tamanivalu moves to the wing due to Waisake Naholo being injured.

Both the 'Naki and Hawke's Bay are bracing themselves for two games this week, their second coming on Sunday against Counties Manukau and Northland respectively.

Taranaki currently sit bottom of the ITM Cup Premiership standings with one win from four games while the Magpies are second in the Championship, with Tasman leading.

The teams:

Taranaki: 15 Kurt Baker, 14 Jackson Ormond, 13 Andre Taylor, 12 Ope Peleseuma, 11 Seta Tamanivalu, 10 Daniel Brooks, 9 Jamison Gibson-Park, 8 Blade Thomson, 7 Berny Hall, 6 Mitchell Crosswell, 5 Kane Barrett (c), 4 Jarrad Hoeata, 3 Ryan Cocker, 2 Timo Tutavaha, 1 Sione Lea.
Replacements: 16 Rhys Marshall, 17 Carl Carmichael, 18 James Broadhurst, 19 Nemia Soqeta, 20 Chris Smylie, 21 Beaudein Waaka, 22 Avon Lewis.

Hawke's Bay: 15 Gillies Kaka, 14 Telusa Veainu, 13 Richard Buckman, 12 Bronson Neera, 11 Zac Guildford, 10 Ihaia West, 9 Chris Eaton, 8 Mark Atkins, 7 Karl Lowe, 6 Trent Boswell-Wakefield, 5 Tom Parsons, 4 Johan Schoonbee, 3 Willie Ioane, 2 Ash Dixon, 1 Adrian Barone.
Replacements: 16 Jesse MacDonald, 17 Brendon Edmonds, 18 Michael Allardice, 19 Tony Lamborn, 20 Alby Mathewson, 21 Régis Lespinas, 22 Trinity Spooner-Neera.

Date: Wednesday, September 11
Kick-off: 19:35 local (08:35 BST, 07:35 GMT)
Venue: Yarrow Stadium, New Plymouth
Referee: tbc