Preview: Taranaki v Bay of Plenty

Date published: September 20 2013

Taranaki coach Colin Cooper has made five changes to his side for Saturday's ITM Cup clash with Bay of Plenty in in New Plymouth.

Taranaki coach Colin Cooper has made five changes to his side for Saturday's bottom-of-the-table ITM Cup clash with Bay of Plenty in in New Plymouth.

Out go hooker Rhys Marshall, lock Jarrad Hoeata, scrum-half Smylie, fly-half Daniel Brooks and inside centre Ope Peleseuma.

In come Timo Tutavaha, James Broadhurst, Jamison Gibson-Park, Beaudein Waaka and Isia Tuifua.

There are also some changes on the bench, with Mitchell Brown introduced for the first time, while Waisake Naholo returns after a fortnight away with a leg injury.

Hoeata and Peleseuma are carrying injuries, while the remaining trio will come off the bench in what is simply a must-win game if Taranaki are to salvage anything from the 2013 season.

Waaka's restoration, after he started against Canterbury in round one, comes after some impressive work for the Taranaki development side and some nice touches off the bench against Hawke's Bay and Counties.

“As a kid, he [Waaka] got basically sent away and told what to work on,” Cooper said.

“He's gone and done that, and we're really happy with how he came on against Counties.”

Cooper shot down suggestions his side would be flat after a listless effort in their 44-7 loss to Counties Manukau in Pukekohe last weekend.

“We're not flat,” he insisted.

“As a team we are disappointed in our attitude to the game.

“We let down our supporters, we let down ourselves, our team and this union. There has to be some correcting of that.”

The squad had a no-holds-barred session yesterday morning where Cooper saw the attitude he would be demanding against Bay of Plenty.

“The attitude wasn't there [against Counties]; it was embarrassing and disappointing and they certainly got told that.

“But we can't keep talking it, we have to start training it, so it was pretty physical today.”

Meanwhile, Bay of Plenty coach Herb Schuler has rung the changes to his starting line-up after Wednesday's 33-25 defeat to Southland at Mount Maunganui.

Amongst the backs there are two changes with Elliott Hagen replacing Steve Honey at full-back while Tino Nemani comes in for Dave Thomas on the right wing.

Up front, Kane Harris takes over from Albert Anae, who has been called up to the Wallabies squad. Other changes amongst the forwards, sees Blade Thomson takes over from Carl Axtens at number eight while Johan Bardoul moves from lock to the blindside flank in place of Joe Tupe.

Josh Sole and Culum Retallick form a new second row while Tim Bond drops down to the bench.

The teams:

Taranaki: 15 Kurt Baker, 14 Jackson Ormond, 13 Andre Taylor, 12 Isaia Tuifua, 11 Seta Tamanivalu, 10 Beaudein Waaka, 9 Jamison Gibson-Park, 8 Blade Thomson, 7 Doug Tietjens, 6 Mitchell Crosswell, 5 James Broadhurst, 4 Kane Barrett (c), 3 Ryan Cocker 2 Timo Tutavaha, 1 Carl Carmichael.
Replacements: 16 Rhys Marshall, 17 Sione Lea, 18 Nemia Soqeta, 19 Mitchell Brown, 20 Chris Smylie, 21 Daniel Brooks, 22 Waisake Naholo.

Bay of Plenty: 15 Elliott Hagen, 14 Tino Nemani, 13 Kenny Lynn, 12 Nick Evemy, 11 Kimami Sitauti, 10 Willie Ripia, 9 Samisoni Fisilau, 8 Joe Tupe, 7 Tanerau Latimer, 6 Johan Bardoul, 5 Josh Sole, 4 Culum Retallick, 3 Pingi Tala'apitaga, 2 Nathan Harris, 1 Kane Harris.
Replacements: 16 Kalen Chan Boon, 17 Joe Royal, 18 Tim Bond, 19 Beau Robinson, 20 Josh Hall, 21 Sam Beard, 22 Junior RofaVa'a.

Date: Saturday, September 21
Kick-off: 19:35 local (08:35 BST, 07:35 GMT)
Venue: Yarrow Stadium, New Plymouth
Referee: Jonathon White