Preview: Sharks v Blue Bulls

Date published: August 26 2016

The Sharks can extend their unbeaten streak to four Currie Cup victories when they host the Blue Bulls in Durban on Saturday.

The Sharks have been bolstered by the return of winger Lwazi Mvovo, who was released from the Springboks. He will replace S’bura Sithole who drops to the bench. 

“Three bonus point wins from three matches played is obviously pleasing, there is still a lot of rugby to be played in this campaign and we have got to improve every single week.  A big focus for us is cutting down our error rate," said Sharks coach Robert du Preez.
“The Blue Bulls are going to be our toughest game yet in the competition and they are dangerous all around the park.  We need to stick to our game-plan and execution, intention and attitude is key.”
The Blue Bulls will attempt to register their third successive victory against the Sharks after winning their last Currie Cup encounter and the Qualifier earlier this season.
Interestingly, the home team has been the best attacking team in the first three rounds with 16 tries and 120 points scored, while the Blue Bulls are hot on their heels with 15 tries and 114 points. The Pretoria side, however, have leaked the most tries in the competition (15) so far, and will have to put their bodies on the line on defence on Saturday.

The last time these teams met: The Blue Bulls won their Currie Cup qualifier 22-18 at Loftus in Pretoria.

Prediciton: It should be a tight contest, but we reckon the Sharks should be too strong at home for the men in blue. Sharks by 5-7 points.

The teams:

Sharks: 15 Curwin Bosch, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Andre Esterhuizen, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Inny Radebe, 9 Stefan Ungerer, 8 Philip van der Walt, 7 Jean-Luc du Preez, 6 Keegan Daniel (c), 5 Ruan Botha, 4 Etienne Oosthuizen, 3 Thomas du Toit, 2 Franco Marais, 1 Dale Chadwick
Replacements: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 John-Hubert Meyer, 18 JC Astle, 19 Jean Deysel, 20 Hanco Venter, 21 S'bura Sithole, 22 Rhyno Smith

Blue Bulls: 15 Duncan Matthews, 14 Travis Ismaiel, 13 Dries Swanepoel, 12 Burger Odendaal, 11 Jamba Ulengo, 10 Tian Schoeman, 9 Piet van Zyl, 8 Arno Botha (c), 7 Jannes Kirsten, 6 Ruan Steenkamp, 5 Marvin Orie, 4 RG Snyman, 3 Jacobie Adriaanse, 2 Jaco Visagie, 1 Lizo Gqoboka
Replacements: 16 Bandise Maku, 17 Martin Dreyer, 18 Nic de Jager, 19 Hanro Liebenberg, 20 Andre Warner, 21 Joshua Stander, 22 Ulrich Beyers

Date: Saturday, August 27
Venue: Kings Park, Durban
Kick-off: 18:10 local (16:10 GMT)
Referee: Marius van der Westhuizen
Assistant Referees: AJ Jacobs, Ricus van der Hoven
TMO: Marius Jonker