Preview: Scarlets v Glasgow

Date published: April 15 2016

Defending PRO12 champions, Glasgow, are aiming for their eighth consecutive win when they face Scarlets at Parc y Scarlets on Saturday.

Scarlets head coach Wayne Pivac has named a strong side to take on the PRO12 defending champions.

International full-back Liam Williams and Steve Shingler have been named in the starting line-up for the home side, with the latter returning from injury.

Shingler pairs up with Gareth Davies to form the half-back combination.

Meanwhile, Stuart Hogg, Josh Strauss and Lee Jones return to the Glasgow starting side following the win over Zebre last Friday as head coach Gregor Townsend makes three changes to his team.

Scotland international Hogg comes in at full-back, while Jones is named on the left wing and Tommy Seymour on the right.

Mark Bennett and Alex Dunbar renew their centre partnership, while Finn Russell and Henry Pyrgos make up the half-back paring.

In the front-row Gordon Reid, Fraser Brown and Sila Puafisi pack down.

Tim Swinson and captain Jonny Gray form the second-row partnership, while Rob Harley, Ryan Wilson and Josh Strauss make up the back-row.

Form: Scarlets tripped up at home to Cardiff Blues in round 19 and have not lost successive Guinness PRO12 matches at Parc y Scarlets since the start of the 2013/14 campaign. Scarlets have not tallied a try bonus in any competition since their victory over Newport Gwent Dragons in October. Glasgow Warriors have won their last seven Guinness PRO12 matches since losing out to Ulster in Belfast in round 14. The Warriors only defeat to a Welsh region so far this season came in the opening round at home to Scarlets. The two sides have met on three occasion this season with Scarlets winning 16-10 at Scotstoun in September and Warriors taking both encounters in the Champions Cup in December. Glasgow have appeared in seven matches at Parc y Scarlets in the PRO12 winning three – in 2009, 2010 and 2013.

The teams:

Scarlets: 15 Liam Williams, 14 Steff Evans, 13 Gareth Owen, 12 Hadleigh Parkes, 11 DTH van der Merwe, 10 Steve Shingler, 9 Gareth Davies,  8 John Barclay, 7 James Davies, 6 Maselino Paulino, 5 David Bulbring, 4 Jake Ball, 3 Samson Lee, 2 Ken Owens (c), 1 Rob Evans
Replacements: 16 Kirby Myhill, 17 Phil John, 18 Peter Edwards, 19 George Earle, 20 Morgan Allen, 21 Aled Davies, 22 Aled Thomas, 23 Steff Hughes

Glasgow: 15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Tommy Seymour, 13 Mark Bennett, 12 Alex Dunbar, 11 Lee Jones, 10 Finn Russell, 9 Henry Pyrgos, 8 Josh Strauss, 7 Ryan Wilson, 6 Rob Harley, 5 Jonny Gray (c), 4 Tim Swinson, 3 Sila Puafisi, 2 Fraser Brown, 1 Gordon Reid

Replacements: 16 Pat MacArthur, 17 Jerry Yanuyanutawa, 18 Zander Fagerson, 19 Leone Nakarawa, 20 Tyrone Holmes, 21 Grayson Hart, 22 Duncan Weir, 23 Taqele Naiyaravoro

Date: Satuday, April 16
Venue: Parc y Scarlets
Kick-off: 15:15 BST (14:15 GMT)
Referee: George Clancy (Ireland)
Assistant Referees: Ian Davies (Wales), Simon Brickell (Wales)
TMO: Jon Mason (Wales)