Preview: Racing 92 v Munster

Date published: October 14 2016

Racing 92 will be without Dan Carter when the host Munster on Sunday at the Stade Yves-du-Manoir.

Johan Goosen starts instead at fly-half, partnering Maxime Machenaud in the half-backs, while Brice Dulin gets the nod at full-back.

Henry Chavancy takes over in midfield from Casey Laulala, while the only other two changes for last season's finalists see Camille Chat start at hooker, with Ben Tameifuna at tighthead prop.

Meanwhile, just one change is made to the Munster starting XV for Sunday's Champions Cup opener. With Keith Earls still following return to play protocols, South African international Jaco Taute will make his European debut for the province at outside centre.

There was better news for Dave Kilcoyne who has now completed his return to play protocols and will start in the front row, while this weekend sees Tyler Bleyendaal and Darren Sweetnam make their European debuts in the starting line up.

The academy's Brian Scott and Dan Goggin are also included in their first European matchday squads after being named on the bench.

As you were in the pack with Kilcoyne joining Niall Scannell and John Ryan in the front row. Donnacha Ryan and Billy Holland partner up in the second row with captain Peter O'Mahony, Tommy O'Donnelland CJ Stander again forming the back row.

Bleyendaal makes his first European appearance alongside Conor Murray in the halfbacks with Taute andRory Scannell forming a new centre partnership in the midfield.

A back three of Ronan O'Mahony, Darren Sweetnam and Simon Zebo completes the starting XV.

Form: Racing 92 and Munster have met twice in European competition in the 2013/13 pool stage. Both matches were won by the home side on the day. Racing have lost three of their four games against Irish provinces in the Champions Cup, averaging 15 points per game. Munster have played 150 games in the tournament and are one of two clubs to have won over 100 games along with Toulouse. Beaten finalists Racing conceded just eight tries in last season's campaign at an average of 0.9 per game, the lowest rate in the competition. Just one of the eight tries they conceded came in the first half of their matches. No side missed fewer tackles than Munster last season who missed 13.7 per game on average. The 2006 and '08 champions also allowed their opponents the fewest metres per game in last season's competition conceding 323 on average. Racing 92 totalled the most turnovers in the tournament last season winning 79 in total at an average of 8.8 per game. Bernard Le Roux (11) and Henry Chavancy (10) contributed 21 of those turnovers, and no player won more than the Racing pair. Veteran number eight Chris Masoe made 110 carries for Racing last season and was the only player in the competition to reach three figures for carries. Of the 15 hookers to make more than 40 lineout throws last season, Dimitri Szarzewski had the best success rate (96 percent), hitting a Racing jumper with 54 of his 56 throws.

The teams:

Racing 92: 15 Brice Dulin, 14 Joe Rokocoko, 13 Henry Chavancy, 12 Anthony Tuitavake, 11 Juan Imhoff, 10 Johannes Goosen, 9 Maxime Machenaud, 8 Chris Masoe, 7 Yannick Nyanga, 6 Wenceslas Lauret, 5 Manuel Carizza, 4 Leone Nakarawa, 3 Ben Tameifuna, 2 Camille Chat, 1 Eddy Ben Arous
Replacements: 16 Virgile Lacombe, 17 Viliamu Afatia, 18 Cedate Gomes Sa, 19 Francois van der Merwe, 20 Thibault Dubarry, 21 James Hart, 22 Remi Tales, 23 Albert Vulivuli

Munster: 15. Simon Zebo, 14 Darren Sweetnam, 13 Jaco Taute, 12 Rory Scannell, 11 Ronan O'Mahony, 10 Tyler Bleyendaal, 9 Conor Murray, 8 CJ Stander, 7 Tommy O'Donnell, 6 Peter O'Mahony, 5 Billy Holland, 4 Donnacha Ryan, 3 John Ryan, 2 Niall Scannell, 1 Dave Kilcoyne
Replacements: 16 Andrew Conway, 17 Brian Scott, 18 Stephen Archer, 19 Robin Copeland, 20 Jack O'Donoghue, 21 Duncan Williams, 22 Ian Keatley, 23 Dan Goggin

Date: Sunday, October 16
Venue: Stade Yves-du-Manoir
Kick-off: 16:15 local (14:15 GMT) 
Referee: Wayne Barnes (England)
Assistant Referees: Craig Maxwell-Keys (England), Paul Dix (England)
TMO: Sean Davey (England)