Preview: Ospreys v Scarlets

Date published: November 4 2011

The Scarlets will field a mix of new talent with some international performers for Saturday's big RaboDirect PRO12 derby with Ospreys.

The Scarlets will field a mix of new talent with some international stars for Saturday's big derby with Ospreys.

Stephen Jones makes a welcome return back to Scarlets colours in the pivotal role of outside half after his landmark achievement of becoming Wales' most capped player in the World Cup.

Hooker Matthew Rees, who returned from injury last week off the bench, captains a side which sees Wales' World Cup centre sensation Scott Williams start alongside bright new talent Adam Warren who is rewarded for his recent efforts at centre after achieving four tries in four games.

Other World Cup returners include Tavis Knoyle who starts at scrum-half with Scarlets Head Coach Nigel Davies opting for some international X-factor on the bench with Ken Owens, Jon Davies, George North and Tongan international Sione Timani all named in the Scarlets 23.

Scottish international Sean Lamont returns to start on the wing for the Scarlets with Liam Williams, another of the Scarlets' new generation also getting his just rewards for his committed and eye-catching form with a starting place on the opposite wing.

More to follow…

Form: The Scarlets go into the high-profile Bonfire Night fixture on the back of four wins in a row with a strong performance at home lst time out against a full force Ulster team winning 24-17 in the RaboDirect PRO12 league. The Ospreys have lost their last three games in all competitions but have been defeated only once at the Liberty Stadium in their last 12 matches in the league. Ospreys have won their last six encounters against their close neighbours. The Scarlets previous victory at Liberty Stadium came in September 2007 when the Scarlets won 14-9.

The teams:

Ospreys: tbc

Scarlets: 15 Daniel Evans, 14 Liam Williams, 13 Adam Warren, 12 Scott Williams, 11 Sean Lamont, 10 Stephen Jones, 9 Tavis Knoyle, 8 Ben Morgan, 7 Rob McCusker, 6 Aaron Shingler, 5 Damian Welch, 4 Dominic Day, 3 Rhys Thomas, 2 Matthew Rees (c), 1 Iestyn Thomas.
Replacements: 16 Ken Owens, 17 Phil John, 18 Rhodri Jones, 19 Sione Timani, 20 Richie Pugh, 21 Rhodri Williams, 22 Jon Davies, 23 George North.

Date: Saturday, 5 November
Venue: Liberty Stadium
Kick-off: 18:30 GMT
Referee: Mathieu Raynal (France)
Assistant referees: Neil Hennessy (Wales), Jon Mason (Wales)
Television match official: Tony Rowlands (Wales)