Preview: Munster v Glasgow Warriors

Date published: October 21 2016

Munster have made one change from the side originally named to face Racing 92 for Saturday's Champions Cup encounter with Glasgow Warriors.

Having completed his return to play protocols for a concussion sustained against Leinster earlier this month, Keith Earls returns to the matchday squad and starts on the left wing.

Tyler Bleyendaal and Darren Sweetnam will make their European debuts while academy prop Brian Scott could also do so after being named on the bench.

Former captain and head coach Anthony Foley will also be remembered by both players and supporters at the game.

Meanwhile, Sean Lamont and Alex Dunbar come into the Glasgow Warriors starting XV.

Lamont replaces Leonardo Sarto on the right wing and Dunbar, who was a late withdrawal ahead of last weekend’s victory over Leicester Tigers due to illness, will start at outside centre at Thomond Park.

Sam Johnson joins Dunbar in midfield, while Rory Hughes maintains his place on the left wing and Stuart Hogg once again starts at full-back.

Co-captain Henry Pyrgos and Finn Russell will again combine at half-back behind an unchanged pack.

Gordon Reid, who had a 100th cap to remember last Friday, is again joined by Fraser Brown and Zander Fagerson in the Warriors front-row.

Tim Swinson and co-captain Jonny Gray start at lock with the back-row of Rob Harley, Ryan Wilson and Josh Strauss completing the starting XV.

On the bench Italy international Simone Favaro could return to action for the first time since sustaining an injury against Leinster in September. Full-back Peter Murchie is also included this week, having been named amongst the replacements.

Form: Munster and Glasgow will meet in Europe for the first time despite being two of just 10 clubs to have played over 100 games in the competition. Munster have won three of their four meetings against Scottish opposition in the European Cup, while Glasgow have lost seven of 10 against Irish opposition. The 2006 and '08 champions have lost just five of 68 home games in the competition (W63). Glasgow won on their first trip to Ireland in the competition against Ulster in 1997, but have lost all four since by an average margin of 23 points.

The teams:

Munster: 15 Simon Zebo, 14 Darren Sweetnam, 13 Jaco Taute, 12 Rory Scannell, 11 Keith Earls, 10 Tyler Bleyendaal, 9 Conor Murray, 24 CJ Stander, 7 Tommy O'Donnell, 6 Peter O'Mahony (c), 5 Billy Holland, 4 Donnacha Ryan, 3 John Ryan, 2 Niall Scannell, 1 Dave Kilcoyne
Replacements: 16 Duncan Casey, 17 Brian Scott, 18 Stephen Archer, 19 Robin Copeland, 20 Jack O'Donoghue, 21 Duncan Williams, 22 Ian Keatley, 23 Ronan O'Mahony

Glasgow Warriors: 15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Sean Lamont, 13 Alex Dunbar, 12 Sam Johnson, 11 Rory Hughes, 10 Finn Russell, 9 Henry Pyrgos (cc), 8 Josh Strauss, 7 Ryan Wilson, 6 Rob Harley, 5 Jonny Gray (cc), 4 Tim Swinson, 3 Zander Fagerson, 2 Fraser Brown, 1 Gordon Reid
Replacements: 16 Pat MacArthur, 17 Alex Allan, 18 Sila Puafisi, 19 Lewis Wynne, 20 Simone Favaro, 21 Ali Price, 22 Mark Bennett, 23 Peter Murchie

Date: Saturday, October 22
Venue: Thomond Park
Kick-off: 13:00 BST (12:00 GMT) 
Referee: Jérôme Garcès (France)
Assistant Referees: Adrien Descottes (France), Sébastien Clouté (France)
TMO: Arnaud Blondel (France)