Preview: Montpellier v Leinster

Date published: November 11 2011

Heineken Cup holders Leinster have named Fergus McFadden in their vacated number 13 shirt for Saturday's clash away to Montpellier.

Heineken Cup holders Leinster have named promising young back Fergus McFadden in their vacated number 13 spot for their fixture in Montpellier.

The backline remains unchanged from last week which means that Jonathan Sexton – who amassed 138 points in last year's European campaign – lines up alongside Isaac Boss at half-back. Gordon D'Arcy partners McFadden at centre with Luke Fitzgerald joining Rob Kearney and Isa Nacewa in the back three.

Heinke van der Merwe is set to make his 40th appearance for Leinster and he starts in the front-row alongside Richardt Strauss and Mike Ross for the province's inaugural Heineken Cup game. Cian Healy tweaked a muscle in his glute in this week's training and the management have decided to err on the side of caution.

In all the Bok prop is one of three changes to the pack that started last weekend's 24-19 victory over Munster with former Brive lock Damian Browne coming into the second-row for his seventh Leinster appearance of the season. Kevin McLaughlin, a replacement last weekend, makes his 14th Heineken Cup appearance and joins fellow Ireland internationals Jamie Heaslip and Sean O'Brien in the back-row.

Shane Jennings is on the bench alongside Sean Cronin, Eoin Reddan and Devin Toner.

Meanwhile, Rugby World Cup star Lucas Amorosino is named at full-back by Montpol in a back-three with former Ulster wing Timoci Nagusa and Yoan Audrin. Amorosino's fellow Argentine Santiago Fernandez runs out from number twelve in an exciting backline.

France international Francois Trinh-Duc is starting at fly-half while Georgian powerhouse Mamuka Gorgodze is at number seven alongside the devastating Fulgence Ouedraogo.

The teams:

Montpellier: 15 Lucas Amorosino, 14 Timoci Nagusa, 13 Geoffrey Doumayrou, 12 Santiago Fernandez, 11 Yoan Audrin, 10 Francois Trinh-Duc, 9 Benoit Paillaugue, 8 Masi Matadigo, 7 Mamuka Gorgodze, 6 Fulgence Ouedraogo, 5 Thibaut Privat, 4 Mickael Demarco, 3 Maximiliano Bustos, 2 Agustin Creevy, 1 Na'ama Leleimalefaga.
Replacements: 16 Rassie Jansen Van Vuuren, 17 Mikheil Nariashvili, 18 George Jgenti, 19 Drickus Hancke, 20 Rémy Martin, 21 Julien Tomas, 22 Paul Bosch, 23 Martin Bustos Moyano.

Leinster: 15 Rob Kearney, 14 Isa Nacewa, 13 Fergus McFadden, 12 Gordon D'Arcy, 11 Luke Fitzgerald, 10 Johnny Sexton, 9 Isaac Boss, 8 Jamie Heaslip, 7 Sean O'Brien, 6 Kevin McLaughlin, 5 Damian Browne, 4 Leo Cullen, 3 Mike Ross, 2 Richardt Strauss, 1 Heinke Van Der Merwe.
Replacements: 16 Sean Cronin, 17 Jack McGrath, 18 Nathan White, 19 Devin Toner, 20 Shane Jennings, 21 Eoin Reddan, 22 Ian Madigan, 23 Eoin O'Malley.

Date: Saturday, November 12
Kick-off: 14:30 (13:30 GMT)
Venue: Stade Yves Du Manoir
Referee: Dave Pearson (England)