Preview: Leicester v Treviso

Date published: January 21 2011

Leicester Tigers have made just one change to their starting XV for Sunday's must-win clash at home to Treviso.

Leicester Tigers have made just one change to their starting XV for Sunday's must-win clash at home to Treviso.

After a 32-18 win at the Scarlets last week, Leicester retain the same 23-man squad. The only change in the line-up sees Dan Cole selected to start at tighthead prop, with Martin Castrogiovanni named among the replacements.

With Geordan Murphy ruled out by an ankle injury, Louis Deacon captains the team in his 200th start for the club.

“We needed to win last week to retain any chance of qualifying and it was a good team performance at the Scarlets. The team showed great resolve and resilience to win that game under some pressure,” said Director of rugby Richard Cockerill.

“Now we have to win again.

“Treviso played very well against us in Round 1, they have a lot of experienced international players in the squad and we treat them with a lot of respect.”

Meanwhile, Treviso have made eight changes to the team that was thumped by Perpignan.

Kristopher Burton and Fabio Semenzato replace Willem De Waal and Tobias Botes as the half-back pairing while Joe Maddock returns to the wing.

Prop Ignacio Fernandez Rouyet drops to the bench in favour of Michele Rizzo while Valerio Bernabò comes into the loose trio.

The teams:

Leicester: 15 Scott Hamilton, 14 Matt Smith, 13 Manu Tuilagi, 12 Anthony Allen, 11 Alesana Tuilagi, 10 Toby Flood, 9 Ben Youngs, 8 Jordan Crane, 7 Craig Newby, 6 Thomas Waldrom, 5 George Skivington, 4 Louis Deacon, 3 Dan Cole, 2 George Chuter, 1 Marcos Ayerza,
Replacements: 16 Rob Hawkins, 17 Boris Stankovich, 18 Martin Castrogiovanni, 19 Ed Slater, 20 Steve Mafi, 21 James Grindal, 22 Jeremy Staunton, 23 Horacio Agulla.

Treviso: 15 Brendan Williams, 14 Ludovico Nitoglia, 13 Ezio Galon, 12 Gonzalo Garcia, 11 Joseph Maddock, 10 Kristopher Burton, 9 Fabio Semenzato, 8 Paul Derbyshire, 7 Valerio Bernabò, 6 Benjamin Vermaak, 5 Corniel Van Zyl, 4 Enrico Pavanello, 3 Lorenzo Cittadini, 2 Leonardo Ghiraldini, 1 Michele Rizzo.
Replacements: 16 Franco Sbaraglini, 17 Ignacio Fernandez Rouyet, 18 Pedro Di Santo, 19 Antonio Pavanello, 20 Alessandro Zanni, 21 Alberto Sgarbi, 22 Tobias Botes, 23 Tommaso Benvenuti.

Date: Sunday, January 23
Kick-off: 13:00
Venue: Welford Road
Referee: Romain Poite (France)
Assistant referees: Mathieu Raynal (France), Céderic Marchat (France)