Preview: ITM Cup, Round Five

Date published: September 8 2015


Round Five's ITM Cup Premiership action starts on Wednesday with Auckland hosting stone-last Manawatu at Eden Park.

The action continues on Thursday when Waikato face Southland in Hamilton before tabletoppers Tasman go head-to-head with Wellinton at the Westpac Stadium on Friday.

There are three matches on Saturday with Counties Manukau and Taranaki in action away from home against North Harbour and Bay of Plenty respectively, and Canterbury face Championship pacesetters Hawke's Bay in Christchurch.

ITM Cup, Premiership fixtures

Auckland v Manawatu

Date: Wednesday, September 9
Venue: Eden Park, Auckland
Kick-off: 19:35 local (07:35 GMT)
Referee: tbc

Played: 29 times from 1917-2014
Auckland wins: 23
Manawatu wins: 6
Last match: Auckland 35 Manawatu 7, 24.08.14 in Palmerston North
Last Manawatu win: Manawatu 15 Auckland 9, 27.06.81 in Palmerston North

Waikato v Southland

Date: Thursday, September 10
Venue: Waikato Stadium, Hamilton
Kick-off: 19:35 local (07:35 GMT)
Referee: tbc

Played: 33 times from 1952-2013
Southland wins: 9
Waikato wins: 23
Draws: 1
Last match: Southland 20 Waikato 16, 06.09.13 in Invercargill
Last Waikato win: Waikato 19 Southland 9, 15.07.11 in Invercargill

Wellington v Tasman

Date: Friday, September 11
Venue: Westpac Stadium, Wellington
Kick-off: 19:35 local (07:35 GMT)
Referee: tbc

Played: Six times from 2006-2014
Wellington wins: 5
Tasman wins: 1
Last match: Tasman 42 Wellington 20, 21.09.14 in Wellington
Last Wellington win: Wellington 20 Tasman 14, 01.08.10 in Wellington

North Harbour v Counties-Manukau

Date: Saturday, September 12
Venue: QBE Stadium, Albany
Kick-off: 14:35 local (02:35 GMT)
Referee: tbc

Played: 29 times from 1985-2013
North Harbour wins: 14
Counties-Manukau wins: 13
Draws: 2
Last match: Counties Manukau 44 North Harbour 14, 22.08.13 in Albany
Last North Harbour win: North Harbour 28 Counties Manukau 19, 25.09.09 in Albany

Bay of Plenty vs Taranaki

Date: Saturday, September 12
Venue:Rotorua International Stadium, Rotorua
Kick-off: 17:35 local (05:35 GMT)
Referee: tbc

Played: 41 times from 1925-2014
Bay of Plenty wins: 16
Taranaki wins: 25
Last match: Taranaki 41 Bay of Plenty 3, 31.08.14 in New Plymouth
Last Bay of Plenty win: Bay of Plenty 20 Taranaki 16, 09.09.06 in Mt Maunganui

Canterbury vs Hawke's Bay

Date: Saturday, September 12
Venue:AMI Stadium (Addington), Christchurch
Kick-off: 19:35 local (07:35 GMT)
Referee: tbc

Played: 54 times from 1887-2012
Canterbury wins: 30
Hawke's Bay wins: 21
Draws: 3
Last match: Canterbury 44 Hawke's Bay 3, 10.10.12 in Napier
Last Hawke's Bay win: Hawke's Bay 21 Canterbury 13, 26.08.82 in Hastings