Preview: Harlequins v Worcester

Date published: March 18 2016

Harlequins director of rugby Conor O'Shea has named his squad that will face Worcester in the Premiership at The Stoop on Saturday.    

The Harlequins' boss has made just one change to his squad that played Bath Rugby last week. Sam Twomey starts in the second row, with Charlie Matthews named among the replacements. Twomey replaces George Merrick who picked up a knock last week.

Meanwhile, Tom Biggs is the only change for Worcester as head coach Dean Ryan named his side. The winger returns from injury as he makes the starting XV. He joins Bryce Heem and Chris Pennell in the back three while Ryan Mills and Wynand Olivier continue their midfield partnership. Francois Hougaard, who has played every minute of his first four appearances for the club, is due to start again at scrum-half where he'll link-up with fly-half Tom Heathcote.

In the front row, Val Rapava Ruskin and Nick Schonert are joined by Niall Annett, who keeps his place at hooker with Jaba Bregvadze still on international duty with Georgia. The experienced Donncha O'Callaghan continues to partner Darren Barry in the second row while Phil Dowson, Carl Kirwan and skipper GJ van Velze occupy the back row.

Form: Harlequins last five encounters in the Premiership have all been won by the home side on the day, whilst ‘Quins only defeat at Twickenham Stoop in any competition since last May was 23-27 to Northampton Saints on 6 February. Worcester Warriors have won three of their last four Premiership encounters but have not won three in a row in the competition since March 2007, whilst the last time that the Warriors achieved back-to-back away wins in the tournament was at the turn of the New Year 2006/07. Harlequins have won their last 15 fixtures against Worcester in the Premiership, with the Warriors only two victories both coming in their debut Premiership season of 2004/05. The Midlanders most recent victory at Twickenham Stoop was 23-22 in the Anglo-Welsh Cup in November 2007.

The teams:

Harlequins: 15 Ross Chisholm, 14 Charlie Walker, 13 George Lowe, 12 Harry Sloan, 11 Henry Cheeseman, 10 Ben Botica, 9 Karl Dickson, 8 Nick Easter, 7 Luke Wallace, 6 Mat Luamanu, 5 Sam Twomey, 4 James Horwill(c), 3 Kyle Sinckler, 2 Dave Ward, 1 Mark Lambert  
Replacements: 16 Joe Gray, 17 Owen Evans, 18 Will Collier, 19 Charlie Matthews, 20 James Chisholm, 21 Tito Tebaldi, 22 Joe Marchant, 23 Ollie LindsayHague

Worcester: 15 Chris Pennell, 14 Bryce Heem, 13 Wynand Olivier, 12 Ryan Mills, 11 Tom Biggs, 10 Tom Heathcote, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 GJ van Velze (c), 7 Carl Kirwan, 6 Phil Dowson, 5 Darren Barry, 4 Donncha O'Callaghan, 3 Nick Schonert, 2 Niall Annett, 1 Val Rapava Ruskin
Replacements: 16 Ben Sowrey, 17 Na'ama Leleimalefaga, 18 James Johnston, 19 Dan Sanderson, 20 Sam Betty, 21 Luke Baldwin, 22 Ryan Lamb, 23 Andy Symons

Date: Saturday, March 19
Venue: The Stoop
Kick-off: 15:00 GMT
Referee: Craig Maxwell-Keys
Assistant Referees: Nigel Carrick, Simon McConnell
TMO: Keith Lewis