Preview: Grenoble v Bayonne

Date published: January 16 2014

Pride is on the line for Grenoble and Bayonne when they meet in their final Challenge Cup Pool game at Stade Lesdiguières on Friday.

Pride will be on the line for Grenoble and Bayonne when they face off in their final Challenge Cup Pool game.

Bayonne's defeat at home to London Wasps last weekend ended their hopes of topping the group as they now sit seven points off the Englishmen.

Grenoble are even further off the pace and so will hope to pick up a morale-boosting win to take into the return of Top 14 league action next weekend.

Team news sees Friday's hosts make wholesale changes to their XV as Olly Barkley, Rida Jaouher, Mathieu Loree all make way from Round Five.

James Hart comes in at nine alongside fly-half Jordan Michallet while Fabien Gengenbacher returns to captain the side from number fifteen.

Bayonne have also made changes as Joe Rokocoko, Scott Spedding, Martin Bustos Moyano and Mark Chisholm drop out of the starting XV. Stephen Brett starts at fly-half.

The teams:

Grenoble: 15 Fabien Gengenbacher (c), 14 Ratu Alipate Ratini, 13 Geoffroy Messina, 12 Julien Caminati, 11 Matthieu Nicolas, 10 Jordan Michallet, 9 James Hart, 8 Florian Faure, 7 Fabien Alexandre, 6 Roland Bernard, 5 Alten Hulme, 4 Hendrik Roodt, 3 Dayna Edwards, 2 Laurent Bouchet, 1 Kenan Mutapcic.
Replacements: 16 Vincent Campo, 17 Gregory Fabro, 18 Richard Choirat, 19 Thibault Rey, 20 Henri Vanderglas, 21 Rida Jaouher, 22 Nicolas Bézy, 23 Olivier Chaplain.

Bayonne: 15 Jon Elissalde, 14 Bastien Fuster, 13 Manu Ahotaeiloa, 12 Matthieu Ugalde, 11 Marvin O'Connor, 10 Stephen Brett, 9 Bastien Duhalde, 8 Julien Puricelli (c), 7 Jean Monribot, 6 Guillaume Bernad, 5 Pierre Gayraud, 4 Dwayne Haare, 3 Vitolio Manukula, 2 Gregory Arganese, 1 Pierre Philippe Lafond.
Replacements: 16 Anthony Etrillard, 17 JC Van Rensburg, 18 Florian Lapeyrade, 19 Dewald Senekal, 20 Jean-Jo Marmouyet, 21 Guillaume Rouet, 22 Scott Spedding, 23 Martin Bustos Moyano.

Date: Friday, January 17
Kick-off: 19:30 local (18:30 GMT)
Venue: Stade Lesdiguières
Referee: Andrew McMenemy (Scotland)
Timekeeper: Yves Bressy (France)