Preview: Glasgow v Treviso

Date published: September 22 2011

There are three changes to Glasgow's starting line-up for Friday's RaboDirect PRO12 clash with Treviso at Firhill.

There are three changes to Glasgow's starting line-up for Friday's RaboDirect PRO12 clash with Treviso at Firhill.

Pat MacArthur comes in for Finlay Gillies at hooker, Ryan Wilson slots in at number eight in Rory Pitman's stead and Duncan Weir replaces Scott Wight at fly-half.

Warriors head coach Sean Lineen has instructed his side to maintain the levels of intensity and execution that brought a momentous 23-19 win over Leinster in Dublin last weekend.

Warriors inflicted a first home Leinster defeat in 29 matches since October 2009, and Lineen is adamant that the same ingredients will need to be present in the same quantities if his men are to record back-to-back victories come the weekend.

“The players and staff are all rightly pleased with what we achieved in Ireland last Saturday, but that game is well and truly gone now and we need to show against Treviso that it wasn't a flash in the pan,” he told the Glasgow website

“From first thing last Sunday morning, it was a case of going back through the match to identify the things that helped us secure the win, in the knowledge that we're going to have to be just as precise and just as consistent this week.

“Against Leinster, we were strong in our work at the breakdown and set-piece, and we were alert and ambitious enough to take our scoring chances when they presented themselves.

“Treviso haven't won a game so far this season, but we're not fooled by that: they're a strong, combative side who will make life difficult and give us real problems if we're not right at the top of our game once more.”

Lineen's caution is informed by the outcome of the season 2010/11 meetings between the teams, where the Warriors won 25-17 at Firhill and lost 19-16 in north-east Italy. Both games were tight affairs that remained in the balance until late in the day.

With the Leinster game having been, in Lineen's words, “hugely physical”, there are still some “bumps and bruises” in the camp, and as such ten players have today been listed as being in contention for the eight substitute berths.

Among them is back-row forward Johnnie Beattie, who has recovered from a knee injury and is thus in line for his first Warriors involvement of the season.

Treviso Head Coach Franco Smith has made three changes to his side from last week.

Treviso are seeking their first win of the season and their first away win since 2007.

Ludovico Nitoglia starts on the wing as both Benjamin De Jager and Michele Sepe got injured in the Ospreys game last Saturday.
Willem De Waal is at full-back, with Benetton looking to utilize his kicking ability.
Another change is in the pack, where Gonzalo Padro is starting from the bench, Manoa Vosawai is playing as flanker where is is joined by Marco Filippucci at number eight

Form: Glasgow Warriors snapped their five game losing sequence with their magnificent 23-19 victory to end Leinster's incredible 29 match home winning run last Saturday. The Warriors have slipped to defeat in their last three encounters at Firhill. Benetton Treviso have begun the RaboDirect PRO12 season with three successive defeats. Treviso's only away victory in the tournament so far came at fellow Italian outfit Aironi in December. Treviso have not won in Scotland since their visit to Edinburgh & District in the 1996 European Cup. The four previous matches between the two teams in all competitions have all been won by the home side on the day.

Rugby Union betting odds

The teams:

Glasgow Warriors : 15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Federico Aramburu, 13 Rob Dewey, 12 Troy Nathan, 11 Colin Shaw, 10 Duncan Weir, 9 Henry Pyrgos, 8 Ryan Wilson, 7 Chris Fusaro, 6 Rob Harley (c), 5 Nick Campbell, 4 Tom Ryder, 3 Ed Kalman, 2 Pat MacArthur, 1 Ryan Grant.
Replacements: 16 Finlay Gillies, 17 Gordon Reid, 18 Michael Cusack, 19 James Eddie, 20 Johnnie Beattie, 21 Colin Gregor, 22 Peter Horne, 23 Tommy Seymour.

Benetton Treviso:15 Willem De Waal, 14 Ludovico Nitoglia, 13 Ezio Galon, 12 Luca Morisi, 11 Brendan Williams, 10 Kristopher Burton, 9 Alberto Chillon, 8 Marco Filippucci, 7 Francesco Minto, 6 Manoa Vosawai, 5 Benjamin Vermaak, 4 Antonio Pavanello (c), 3 Pedro Di Santo, 2 Diego Vidal, 1 Michele Rizzo.
Replacements: 16 Enrico Ceccato, 17 Matteo Muccignat, 18 Augusto Allori, 19 Valerio Bernabò, 20 Gonzalo Padrò, 21 Simon Picone, 22 Tommaso Iannone, 23 Alberto Di Bernardo.

Date: Friday, September 23
Venue: Firhill Stadium
Kick-off: 19.30 BST (18.30 GMT)
Referee: Alan Falzone (FIR)