Preview: Edinburgh v Racing-Metro

Date published: November 17 2011

Edinburgh will be looking to make it two wins from two in the Heineken Cup when they take on a hurting Racing-Metro at Murrayfield.

Edinburgh will be looking to make it two wins from two in the Heineken Cup when they tackle Racing-Metro.

The club, who kicked off their campaign in fine fashion against London Irish, have made two changes as Greig Laidlaw and Tim Visser start.

Visser returns to the fold for the tenth match in a row this season, looking to maintain an impressive strike rate of a try in every two games.

“There are only six games in the Heineken Cup pool stages, so if you win your home games and pick something up on the road then you're putting yourself in contention,” he said.

“We've managed to do one of the difficult elements, which is winning away from home, but we need to win our home games to really put ourselves up there and in a chance of progressing in European competition.

“This Racing Metro match was always going to be a tough and physical game but we have to back it up our away wins with a big performance in front of a big crowd.

“We have to do the basics well. The French will want to try and throw the ball around like they do at home but if we execute our attacking and defensive systems right, have a good set-piece platform and retain possession then we've got a good chance.”

Meanwhile, Racing Metro have handed a start to Jonathan Wisniewski at full-back ahead of Gaeten Germain, who drops out of the matchday 22 altogether. Other changes to the backline sees Sereli Bobo fall out of the squad, replaced by Julien Saubade, while France international Fabrice Estebanez also misses out to Guillaume Bousses at number twelve.

Changes have also been made up front with Johannes Coetzee and Mikaele Tuugahala in for prop duo Juan Pablo Orlandi and Andrea Lo Cicero respectively. Jone Qovu Nailiko is replaced by Lionel Nallett at lock while Antoine Batut drops out for Bernard Le Roux.

The teams:

Edinburgh: 15 Jim Thompson, 14 Lee Jones, 13 Nick De Luca, 12 Matt Scott, 11 Tim Visser, 10 Harry Leonard, 9 Greig Laidlaw, 8 Stuart McInally, 7 Roddy Grant, 6 Netani Talei, 5 Grant Gilchrist, 4 Esteban Lozada, 3 Geoff Cross, 2 Ross Ford, 1 Allan Jacobsen.
Replacements: 16 Steve Lawrie, 17 Kyle Traynor, 18 Lewis Niven, 19 Sean Cox, 20 Ross Rennie, 21 Mike Blair, 22 James King, 23 Tom Brown.

Racing-Metro: 15 Jonathan Wisniewski, 14 Julien Saubade, 13 Henry Chavancy, 12 Guillaume Bousses, 11 Juan Imhoff, 10 Juan Martin Hernandez, 9 Mathieu Loree, 8 Sebastien Chabal, 7 Bernard Le Roux, 6 John Leo'o, 5 Lionel Nallet, 4 Karim Ghezal, 3 Johannes Coetzee, 2 Benjamin Noirot, 1 Mikaele Tuugahala.
Replacements: 16 Thomas Bianchin, 17 Eddy Ben Arous, 18 Juan Pablo Orlandi, 19 Jone Qovu Nailiko, 20 Sebastien Descons, 21 Virimi Vakatawa, 22 Antoine Batut, 23 Remi Vaquiin.

Date: Friday, November 18
Kick-off: 20:00
Venue: Murrayfield
Referee: John Lacey (Ireland)