Preview: Edinburgh v London Irish

Date published: January 20 2012

Edinburgh have made just one change to their starting XV for Sunday's Heineken Cup tie against London Irish at Murrayfield.

Edinburgh have made just one change to their starting XV for Sunday's Heineken Cup tie against London Irish at Murrayfield.

Roddy Grant replaces Ross Rennie at openside flank in the clash, which is crucial for the hosts who are still chasing a play-off berth.

Edinburgh last qualified for the competition's quarter-finals nine years ago and go into the last round of matches level on 17 points with Cardiff.

To secure their spot in the play-offs Edinburgh must win with a bonus point and hope that Cardiff lose their clash against Racing Metro.

But if the Welsh region do manage a win the Scottish side will hope that they do not manage to secure a full haul of points.

Edinburgh club made it four wins from five thanks to Phil Godman's last-gasp drop goal that secured a memorable 27-24 triumph against Racing Metro in Paris last weekend.

Meanwhile, London Irish have made six changes and a positional switch for the match.

Paul Hodgson will partner Adrian Jarvis at scrum-half. Alex Corbisiero, James Buckland and Leo Halavatau will start in the front-row. Bob Casey will captain the side in the second-row alongside James Sandford with Matt Garvey moving to blindside flanker.

Despite being out of the running for the play-offs London Irish head coach Toby Booth said his team would approach this match like any other.

“We play every game to win it and this weekend is no exception. We will go up to Edinburgh this weekend to be competitive and look to come away with a result.”

Rugby Union betting odds

The teams:

Edinburgh: 15 Chris Paterson, 14 Lee Jones, 13 Nick De Luca, 12 Matt Scott, 11 Tim Visser, 10 Greig Laidlaw, 9 Mike Blair, 8 Netani Talei, 7 Roddy Grant, 6 David Denton, 5 Sean Cox, 4 Grant Gilchrist, 3 Geoff Cross, 2 Ross Ford, 1 Allan Jacobsen.
Replacements: 16 Alun Walker, 17 Kyle Traynor, 18 Jack Gilding, 19 Esteban Lozada, 20 Stuart McInally, 21 Phil Godman, 22 John Houston, 23 Tom Brown.

London Irish: 15 Delon Armitage, 14 Topsy Ojo, 13 Jonathan Spratt, 12 Shontayne Hape, 11 Adam Thompstone, 10 Adrian Jarvis, 9 Paul Hodgson, 8 Alex Gray, 7 David Sisi, 6 Matthew Garvey, 5 Bob Casey, 4 James Sandford, 3 Leo Halavatau, 2 James Buckland, 1 Alex Corbisiero.
Replacements: 16 Brian Blaney, 17 Max Lahiff, 18 Faan Rautenbach, 19 Nick Kennedy, 20 Bryn Evans, 21 Jonathan Joseph, 22 Steven Shingler, 23 Ross Samson.

Date: Sunday, January 22
Venue: Murrayfield, Edinburgh
Kick-off: 15.15 GMT
Referee: Peter Fitzgibbon (Ireland)