Preview: Connacht v Samoa

Date published: November 9 2010

Samoa kick-off their November tour of Europe in Ireland on Tuesday when they face Connacht at the Sportsground in Galway.

Samoa kick-off their November tour of Europe in Ireland on Tuesday when they face Connacht at the Sportsground in Galway.

With a number of senior players being rested following a tough start to the Magners League and Amlin Challenge Cup Head Coach Eric Elwood has given a number of younger players the opportunity to compete for places.

Connacht Academy back-row graduates Eoin McKeon and Shane Conneely look set to make their competitive debuts along with South African prop Dylan Rogers and Blackrock College and Ireland U21 winger Shane Monahan in a side that sees a mix of youth and experience.

Brian Tuohy and Conor O'Loughlin will look to make their first appearances of the 2010/2011 campaign and a new and exciting halfback pairing of Cillian Willis and Miah Nikora will be joined by Ferbane native Adian Wynne and Galwayman Eoin Griffin in the back line.

The squad has a total of eight graduates from the Connacht Academy which has prospered in recent years under the guidance of Academy Director and Ireland U20 Assistant Coach Nigel Carolan.

Meanwhile, on Monday Samoa announced their team that will face the Westerners. It sees former Connacht winger Gavin Williams on the bench with Wasps lock Daniel Leo, Hawke's Bay Winger Sinoti Sinoti and Clermont Auvernge hooker Ti'i Paulo all named in the starting lineup.

Samoa will look to improve on their last visit to the Sportsground in 1988 when they lost 25-18 to a Connacht side captained by Tom Clancy.

The teams:

Connacht:15 Troy Nathan, 14 Shane Monahan, 13 Eoin Griffin, 12 Aidan Wynne, 11 Brian Tuohy, 10 Miah Nikora, 9 Cillian Willis, 8 Ezra Taylor, 7 Mike McComish, 6 Eoin McKeon, 5 Bernie Upton, 4 Andrew Browne, 3 Barry Fa'amausili, 2 Adrian Flavin (C), 1 Ronan Loughney.
Replacements: 16 Dermot Murphy, 17 Rob Sweeney, 18 Dylan Rogers, 19 Mike McCarthy, 20 Shane Conneely, 21 Conor O'Loughlin, 22 Darragh Fanning,

Samoa: 15 Mikaele Pesamino, 14 Fautua Otto, 13 Uarotafou Setu, 12 Jamie Helleur, 11 Sinoti Sinoti, 10 Lolo Lui (c), 9 Junior Poluleluligaga, 8 Richard Muagututia, 7 Falemiga Selesele, 6 Misioka Timoteo, 5 Daniel Leo, 4 Chad Slade, 3 Logovii Mulipola, 2 Ti'i Paulo, 1 Simon Lemalu.
Replacements:16 Mahonri Schwalger, 17 Naama Leleimalefaga, 18 Filipo Levi, 19 Afa Aiono, 20 Uale Mai, 21 Brando Vaaulu, 22 Gavin Williams.

Date: Tuesday, November 9
Venue: The Sportsground, Galway
Kick-off: 19.05 GMT