Preview: Churchill Cup, Round Two

Date published: June 7 2011

Former Sale coach Kingsley Jones has named his first Churchill Cup team ahead of Russia's opener against Canada on Wednesday.

Former Sale coach Kingsley Jones has named his first Churchill Cup team ahead of Russia's opening fixture with Canada at Esher on Wednesday.

Russia face the Canucks at Moseley Road, who enter the next stage of the tournament after a convincing win over Italy “A” at Franklin's Gardens.

Man of the Match Chauncey O'Toole is again named in the starting XV alongside try scorers James Pritchard and Aaron Carpenter.

The teams:

Canada: 15 James Pritchard, 14 Matt Evans, 13 Conor Trainor, 12 Mike Scholz, 11 Justin Mensah-Coker, 10 Ander Munro (capt), 9 Sean White, 8 Aaron Carpenter, 7 Chauncey O'Toole, 6 Jebb Sinclair, 5 Jamie Cudmore, 4 Tyler Hotson, 3 Scott Franklin, 2 Ryan Hamilton, 1 Tom Dolezel.
Replacements: 16 Pat Riordan, 17 Andrew Tiedemann, 18 Hubert Buydens, 19 Mitch Gudgeon, 20 Nanyak Dala, 21 Ed Fairhurst, 22 Phil Mackenzie

Russia: 15 I Klyuchnikov; 14 V Artemyev, 13 I Makovetskiy, 12 A Makovetskiy, 11 V Ostroushko, 10 Y Kushnarev, 9 S Shakirov, 8 V Grachev. 7 A Garbuzov, 6 A Temnov, 5 A Voytov, 4 V Boltenkov, 3 I Prishchepenko, 2 V Korshunov (capt), 1 S Popov.
Replacements: 16 V Tsnobiladze, 17 A Travkinm, 18 A Panasenko, 19 V Gresev, 20 A Bykanov, 21 S Trishin, 22 A Ryabov.

Date: Wednesday, June 8
Kick-off: 20:00 (19:00 GMT)
Venue: Moseley Road, Esher
Referee: Nigel Owens (Wales)

Tonga Head Coach Isitolo Maka has revealed the starting XV that will run out for their first match of the 2011 Churchill Cup on Wednesday at Esher Rugby.

Kisi Pulu, of Top 14 side Perpignan, will start at tighthead prop and will captain the side against USA.

In the opposition camp, USA boss Eddie O'Sullivan has rung the changes following Saturday 87-8 defeat to England Saxons.

Only wing Colin Hawley and try-scoring second row Scott Lavalla are retained while Sevens player Paul Emerick – who also played in the 2007 Rugby World Cup, is brought in at centre. There is a new half-back combination in Tim Usaz and Nese Malifa.

Captain Todd Clever returns to the starting line-up after sitting out of his side's 87-8 thrashing by England Saxons, while former captain Mike Petri moves to the bench.

Tonga: 15 M Malupo, 14 V Helu, 13 S Hufanga, 12 E Siua, 11 V Iongi, 10 K Mortath, 9 S Havea, 8 V Ma'Afu, 7 P Koloamatangi, 6 P Mapakaitolo, 5 E Kauhenga, 4 S Timani, 3 K Pulu, 2 I Ma'Asi, 1 T Lea'Aetoa.
Replacements: 16 A Halangahu, 17 O Fainga'Anuku, 18 J Afu, 19 P Kaho, 20 D Mrath, 21 E Paea, 22 S Taumoepeau.

USA: 15 R Suniula, 14 C Hawley, 13 P Emerick, 12 A Suniula, 11 K Swiryn, 10 N Malifa, 9 T Usasz, 8 N Johnson, 7 T Clever (capt), 6 I Basauri, 5 S Lavalla, 4 L Stanfill, 3 S Pittman, 2 C Biller, 1 M Moeakiola.
Replacements: 16 P Thiel, 17 E Fry, 18 J Van Der Giessen, 19 P Danahy, 20 M Petri, 21 T Enosa, 22 T Hall.

Date: Wednesday, June 8
Kick-off: 17:30 (16:30 GMT)
Venue: Moseley Road, Esher
Referee: Romain Poite (France)