Preview: Cheetahs v EP Kings

Date published: September 2 2016

The Cheetahs will be looking to continue their winning streak while the EP Kings will want to start theirs in their Currie Cup clash in Bloemfontein.

The Cheetahs will attempt to register their fourth successive victory in the tournament on Saturday. The Free Staters have won all their home games against the Port Elizabeth side since the 1997 season, and they won the Currie Cup Qualifier in Port Elizabeth in May.

The EP Kings, however, have had fair success against the men from Bloemfontein in the Eastern Cape, where they won three of their four matches in the Currie Cup Premier Division.

The Cheetahs will field a new front row with props Tom Botha and Ox Nche taking over from Johan Coetzee and Charles Marais respectively, while Namibian Torsten van Jaarsveld replaces Jacques du Toit at hooker.

Scrum-half Tian Meyer will continue to captain the side in the absence of the injured Francois Venter.

Last time these teams met: The Cheetahs won 35-15 in their Currie Cup qualifyer in Port Elizabeth in May. Free State were coming off back-to-back victories over the Lions and the Sharks while the Kings had suffered a heavy loss against Western Province in Cape Town in their previous match.

Prediction: This should be a straight forward win for the home side and it would be a surprise if they didn't bag a four-try bonus point as well. Cheetahs by 20-plus.

The teams:

For the Cheetahs: 15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Rayno Benjamin, 13 Nico Lee, 12 William Small-Smith, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Fred Zeilinga, 9 Tian Meyer (c), 8 Niell Jordaan, 7 Uzair Cassiem, 6 Tian Schoeman, 5 Reniel Hugo, 4 Carl Wegner, 3 Tom Botha, 2 Torsten van Jaarsveldt, 1 Ox Nche 
Replacements: 16 Jacques du Toit, 17 Charles Marais, 18 Justin Basson, 19 Henco Venter, 20 Shaun Venter, 21 Niel Marais, 22 Michael van der Spuy.

For the EP Kings: 15 Johann Tromp, 14 Shakes Soyizwapi, 13 JC Greyling, 12 Berton Klaasen, 11 Sampie Mastriet, 10 Pieter-Steyn de Wet, 9 Ricky Schroeder (c), 8 Christiaan de Bruin, 7 Etienne Oosthuizen, 6 Vince Jobo, 5 Sebastian Ferreira, 4 Dylan Pieterse, 3 Vukile Sofisa, 2 Michael Willemse, 1 Justin Forwood
Replacements: 16 Martin Bezuidenhout, 17 Barend Potgieter, 18 Hannes Huisamen, 19 Brandon Brown, 20 Vian van der Watt, 21 Kobus Marais, 22 Ganfried May

Date: Saturday, September 3
Venue: Newlands Stadium, Cape Town
Kick-off: 17:10 local (15:10 GMT)
Referee: Rasta Rasivhenge
Assistant Referees: Quinton Immelman, Jaco Kotze
TMO: Marius Jonker