Preview: Canterbury v Wellington

Date published: September 10 2014

Scott Robertson makes four changes and five positional tweaks to his Canterbury XV that will take on Wellington, with Tom Taylor in at 10.

Coach Scott Robertson has made four changes and five positional tweaks to his Canterbury side that will take on Wellington, with Tom Taylor starting.

Taylor and Nathaniel Apa are the new additions to the backs as Taylor recovers from injury to play at fly-half, which sees Richie Mo'unga move back to full-back and Patrick Osborne return to the wing.

Nathanial Apa will start on the other wing while in the midfield Rob Thompson will play at inside centre and Adam Whitelock at number thirteen.

In the forwards, hookers Ben Funnell and Codie Taylor have switched places so that Taylor takes the starting spot this week. Matt Symons is unavailable for selection following an ankle injury against Otago last Thursday, so Joel Everson and Scott Barrett will pair up at lock with JJ Manning as cover.

Set to make his debut if he comes off the bench is wider training group member Brett Mather.

Meanwhile, Matt Proctor and Ross Filipo return from injury this week to boost the Wellington Lions as they head south to take on ITM Cup pace-setters Canterbury in Christchurch.

Filipo will come off the bench on Friday, while Proctor will pair with Shaun Treeby at centre.

Jackson Garden-Bachop and Sheridan Rangihuna form the Lions' half-back combination.

The teams:

Canterbury: 15 Richie Mo'unga, 14 Patrick Osborne, 13 Adam Whitelock, 12 Rob Thompson, 11 Nathaniel Apa, 10 Tom Taylor, 9 Willi Heinz (c), 8 Nasi Manu, 7 Matt Todd, 6 Luke Whitelock, 5 Scott Barrett, 4 Joel Everson, 3 Nepo Laulala, 2 Codie Taylor, 1 Alex Hodgman.
Replacements: 16 Ben Funnell, 17 Sione Faletau, 18 JJ Manning, 19 Tom Sanders, 20 Mitchell Drummond, 21 Brett Mather, 22 Luteru Laulala.

Wellington: 15 Jason Woodward, 14 Ambrose Curtis, 13 Matt Proctor, 12 Shaun Treeby, 11 Belgium Tuatagaloa, 10 Jackson Garden-Bachop, 9 Sheridan Rangihuna, 8 Brad Shields (c), 7 Adam Hill, 6 Dean Brunsdon, 5 Christian Lloyd, 4 Mark Reddish, 3 Taniela Koroi, 2 Motu Matu'u, 1 Tolu Fahamokioa.
Replacements: 16 James O'Reilly, 17 Eric Sione, 18 Ross Filipo, 19 Pau Halafihi, 20 Jared Kahu, 21 Tu Umaga-Marshall, 22 Tau Mamea.

Date: Friday, September 12
Kick-off: 20:05 (09:05 BST, 08:05 GMT)
Venue: AMI Stadium (Addington), Christchurch
Referee: Brendon Pickerill