Preview: Brive v Stade Français

Date published: February 19 2016

Top 14 action returns on Friday when Stade Français look to jump-start their season with a victory over playoff chasing Brive in Paris.

Stade Français are currently sitting in eleventh place after losing eight of their opening thirteen games while Brive occupy sixth position.

But with several of internationals back in the 23, Stade's home fans will expect a win on Friday that would keep their domestic season alive.

Hugo Bonneval starts at full-back while Alexandre Flanquart is at lock, with number eight Sergio Parisse, fly-half Jules Plisson, centre Jonathan Danty and tighthead prop Rabah Slimani included on the bench in a strong looking squad for the Champions Cup quarter-finalists.

Brive will hope the boot of full-back Gaetan Germain continues to be on form as they look for a triumph that would move them up to third.

Nicolas Bézy is fly-half and goes up against Morné Steyn while Alfi Mafi and Guillaume Namy will look to provide threats from the wings.

The teams:

Stade Français: 15 Hugo Bonneval, 14 Jeremy Sinzelle, 13 Waisea Nayacalevu Vuidravuwalu, 12 Paul Williams, 11 Djibril Camara, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Julien Dupuy, 8 Jono Ross, 7 Raphael Lakafia, 6 Antoine Burban, 5 Alexandre Flanquart, 4 Hugh Pyle, 3 Paul Alo-Emile, 2 Craig Burden, 1 Zak Taulafo
Replacements: 16 Laurent Panis, 17 Zurab Zhvania, 18 Gerhard Mostert, 19 Sergio Parisse, 20 Clement Daguin, 21 Jules Plisson, 22 Jonathan Danty, 23 Rabah Slimani

Brive: 15 Gaetan Germain, 14 Guillaume Namy, 13 Benjamin Petre, 12 Sevenaia Galala, 11 Alfi Mafi, 10 Nicolas Bezy, 9 Jean-Baptiste Pejoine, 8 Fabien Sanconnie, 7 Dominiko Waqaniburotukula, 6 Poutasi Luafutu, 5 Arnaud Mela, 4 Johan Snyman, 3 Damien Jourdain, 2 Francois Da Ros, 1 Damien Lavergne
Replacements: 16 Thomas Acquier, 17 Karlen Asieshvili, 18 Wilhelm Steenkamp, 19 Said Hireche, 20 Teddy Iribaren, 21 Thomas Laranjeira, 22 Benito Masilevu, 23 Giorgi Jgenti

Date: Friday, February 19
Venue: Stade Jean Bouin
Kick-off: 20:45 local (19:45 GMT)
Referee: Alexandre Ruiz
Assistant Referees: Cédric Clave, Laurent Breil
TMO: Bernard Dal Maso