Preview: Bordeaux-Bègles v Ulster

Date published: October 14 2016

Bordeaux-Bègles boss Raphaël Ibanez has made a handful of changes for his side's Champions Cup clash against Ulster.

Jean-Baptiste Dubié comes into the midfield for Julien Rey, while Ian Madigan gets the nod at fly-half ahead of Lionel Beauxis, partnered by scrum-half Baptiste Serin.

Luke Jones is named in the back row in place of Louis-Benoît Madaule, with Cyril Cazeaux partnering captain Jandre Marais in the second row. A new front row sees Vadim Cobilas, Clément Maynadier and Jefferson Poirot all start.

Meanwhile, Andrew Trimble, Luke Marshall, Stuart Olding and Ruan Pienaar all return to the Ulster backline.

Trimble will captain the Ulster side from the right wing, with Craig Gilroy and Jared Payne retaining their places in the back three.

Marshall and Olding will be paired together in midfield, while Pienaar returns at scrum-half to join Paddy Jackson in a formidable half-back partnership.

There are four changes to the pack from last week's outing against Connacht, with Andy Warwick coming in at loosehead prop to join Rory Best and Rodney Ah You in the front row.

The second row partnership of Alan O'Connor and Franco van der Merwe that featured in the back-to-back wins over Glasgow and Scarlets are preferred again, while Sean Reidy comes in to pack down alongside Iain Henderson and Clive Ross in the back row. 

With Charles Piutau, Louis Ludik, Darren Cave and Stuart McCloskey all unavailable due to injury, the backline will be supported by Paul Marshall, Jacob Stockdale and Rob Lyttle from the bench. Rob Herring, Kyle McCall, Ross Kane, Pete Browne and Roger Wilson will provide the forward cover.

The teams:

UBB: 15 Jean-Marcellin Buttin, 14 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 13 Jean-Baptiste Dubié, 12 Romain Lonca, 11 Blair Connor, 10 Ian Madigan, 9 Yann Lesgourgues, 8 Loann Goujon, 7 Hugh Chalmers, 6 Luke Jones, 5 Cyril Cazeaux, 4 Jandré Marais (c), 3 Vadim Cobilas, 2 Clément Maynadier, 1 Jefferson Poirot
Replacements: 16 Ole Avei, 17 Sébastien Taofifenua, 18 Marc Clerc, 19 Tom Palmer, 20 Marco Tauleigne, 21 Baptiste Serin, 22 Lionel Beauxis, 23 Metuisela Talebula

Ulster: 15 Jared Payne, 14 Andrew Trimble (c), 13 Luke Marshall, 12 Stuart Olding, 11 Craig Gilroy, 10 Paddy Jackson, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Sean Reidy, 7 Clive Ross, 6 Iain Henderson, 5 Franco van der Merwe, 4 Alan O'Connor, 3 Rodney Ah You, 2 Rory Best, 1 Andy Warwick
Replacements: 16 Rob Herring, 17 Kyle McCall, 18 Ross Kane, 19 Pete Browne, 20 Roger Wilson, 21 Paul Marshall, 22 Jacob Stockdale, 23 Rob Lyttle

Date: Sunday, October 16
Venue: Stade Chaban-Delmas
Kick-off: 14:00 local (12:00 GMT)
Referee: JP Doyle (England)
Assistant Referees: John Meredith (England), Peter Allan (England)
TMO: Graham Hughes (England)