Preview: Biarritz v Oyonnax

Date published: March 14 2014

Biarritz will be looking to make up ground on Oyonnax in the Top 14 standings when these two strugglers meet in this rearranged clash.

Biarritz will look to make up ground on Oyonnax in the Top 14 standings when these two struggling sides collide in this rearranged fixture on Friday.

It is fourteenth against thirteenth at Parc des Sports Aquiléra as BO, fourteen points behind Oyonnax, look to claim a moral-boosting win.

The hosts are boosted by the return of Teddy Thomas and Joe Pietersen to their back-three while former French heroes Dimitri Yachvili and Imanol Harinordoquoy start at nine and eight.

Meanwhile, their visitors start Salim Tebani at hooker in place of Jody Jenneker while they change their centre partnership as Pierre Aguillon and Hemani Paea come in for Guillaume Bousses and Roimata Hansell.

Oyonnax enter the game on the back of a 64-10 hammering at Toulon while Biarritz suffered a narrower but by no means less painful 11-8 home derby loss to Basque rivals Bayonne.

The teams:

Biarritz: 15 Joe Pietersen, 14 Taku Ngwenya, 13 Charles Gimenez, 12 Seremaia Burotu, 11 Teddy Thomas, 10 Dan Waenga, 9 Dimitri Yachvili, 8 Imanol Harinordoquoy, 7 Ueleni Fono, 6 Benoît Guyot, 5 Thibault Dubarry, 4 Erik Lund, 3 Francisco Gomez Kodela, 2 Arnaud Heguy, 1 Thomas Synaeghel.
Replacements: 16 Ben Broster, 17 Fabien Barcella, 18 Eugene van Staden, 19 Addison Lockley, 20 Raphaël Lakafia, 21 Yann Lesgourgues, 22 Julien Peyrelongue, 23 Aled Brew.

Oyonnax: 15 Lucas Amorosino, 14 Silvere Tian, 13 Pierre Aguillon, 12 Hemani Paea, 11 Samuela Wara, 10 Benjamin Urdapilleta, 9 Agustin Figuerola, 8 Viliami Maafu, 7 Christophe Andre, 6 Valentin Ursache, 5 Damian Browne, 4 Miroslav Nemecek, 3 Marc Clerc, 2 Salim Tebani, 1 Fiche Lukas Rapant.
Replacements: 16 Neil Clark, 17 Clément Baïocco, 18 Damien Lagrange, 19 Ratu Soqeta, 20 Fabien Cibray, 21 Régis Lespinas, 22 Guillaume Bousses, 23 Antoine Tichit.

Date: Friday, March 14
Kick-off: 20:45 local (19:45 GMT)
Venue: Parc des Sports Aquiléra
Referee: Sébastien Cloute