Preview: Aironi v Treviso

Date published: December 30 2010

Aironi Head Coach Rowland Phillips has named his starting line-up to face Benetton Treviso in the Magners League on Friday.

Aironi Head Coach Rowland Phillips has named his starting line-up to face Benetton Treviso in the Magners League Round 12 clash on Friday.

For this second Italian derby in a week, the hosts make only one change from the side that picked up a point in defeat at the Monigo Stadium, where Treviso won 15-10 last week. That change is the return of Gareth Krause in the back-row in place of Simone Favaro, with the youngster on the bench.

The only other new face is on the bench, where Gilberto Pavan makes his return in place of Riccardo Bocchino.

“We made just one change and the only reason is that seven is a tough position. We have two very good players and it's better to have a fresh one in that position,” said Phillips.

“I expect a different game this week. Weather conditions are better, the pitch is better and there will be more opportunities to play rugby. Last week was a big disappointment because the preparation was good, the focus was good but when we had the opportunities we didn't capitalise. This week I want our players to keep improving our game.”

Meanwhile, there are five changes to the Treviso starting line-up in the second Italian Magners League derby.

Italian international centre Gonzalo Garcia will start wearing the 12 jersey alongside other Test players, wing Tommaso Benvenuti, number eight Manoa Vosawai, prop Ignacio Fernandez Rouyet and hooker Leonardo Ghiraldini.

The match at Stadio Zaffanella could be another historic step for Benetton with the chance of a first away victory in the Magners League.

Form: Aironi return to Stadio Zaffanella for the first time since their historic maiden win, over Biarritz in the European Cup on 11 December. Treviso ended their four game losing run in all competitions on Christmas Eve in the first leg of the inaugural Italian Magners League double header, where they gained a narrow victory over their fellow countrymen.

The teams:

Aironi: 15 Julien Laharrague, 14 Giulio Toniolatti, 13 Rodd Penney, 12 Gabriel Pizarro, 11 Matteo Pratichetti, 10 James Marshall, 9 Tito Tebaldi, 8 Nick Williams, 7 Gareth Krause, 6 Josh Sole, 5 Quintin Geldenhuys (capt), 4 Marco Bortolami, 2 Fabio Ongaro, 3 Fabio Staibano, 1 Matias Aguero.
Replacements: 16 Roberto Santamaria, 17 Luca Redolfini, 18 Salvatore Perugini, 19 Carlo Del Fava, 20 Simone Favaro, 21 Pablo Canavosio, 22 Gilberto Pavan, 23 Paolo Bu.

Treviso: 15 Brendan Williams, 14 Ludovico Nitoglia, 13 Alberto Sgarbi, 12 Gonzalo Garcia, 11 Tommaso Benvenuti, 10 Kristopher Burton, 9 Tobias Botes, 8 Manoa Vosawai, 7 Alessandro Zanni, 6 Paul Derbyshire, 5 Corniel Van Zyl, 4 Antonio Pavanello (capt), 3 Pedro Di Santo, 2 Leonardo Ghiraldini, 1 Ignacio Fernandez Rouyet.
Replacements: 16 Franco Sbaraglini, 17 Lorenzo Cittadini, 18 Augusto Allori, 19 Valerio Bernabò, 20 Marco Filippucci, 21 Willem De Waal, 22 Fabio Semenzato, 23 Benjamin De Jager.

Date: Friday, December 31
Kick-off: 14:30 (13:30 GMT)
Venue: Stadio Zaffanella
Referee: Pascal Gauzere (FFR)
Assistant Referees: Stefano Penne, Matteo Liperini (both FIR)
TMO: Giulio de Santis (FIR)