Preview: Aironi v Leinster

Date published: April 22 2011

After being defeated in Edinburgh last Friday, Aironi return home for the last two matches of the season against Leinster and Ospreys.

After being defeated in Edinburgh last Friday, Aironi return home for the last two matches of the season against Leinster and Ospreys.

The Aironi coaching staff have made seven changes to their starting line-up. Horacio San Martin replaces Giulio Rubini after he injured his left knee at Murrayfield. Kaine Robertson and Danwel Demas play on the wings while Gabriel Pizarro will play at centre alongside Gilberto Pavan. At scrum half Tito Tebaldi returns with James Marshall his half-back partner.

In the back row Josh Sole is back at blindside flanker after his one week suspension and completes the line with Gareth Krause and Nick Williams. Young lock Joshua Furno replaces Quintin Geldenhuys, with Marco Bortolami skippering the side. Fabio Staibano and Alberto De Marchi replace Gambo and Perugini in the front row, while Fabio Ongaro lines up at hooker.

Meanwhile Leinster captain Brian O'Driscoll will skipper a blend of youth and experience for the trip to Italy and he partners Eoin O'Malley at centre with Fergus McFadden reverting to the right wing. The back three is completed by full-back David Kearney and Luke Fitzgerald on the left wing.
Elsewhere Eoin Reddan links up at half-back with 22-year-old Ian Madigan who is making his 15th appearance of the current campaign.

In the pack, Cian Healy and Mike Ross form the front row alongside hooker Jason Harris-Wright with Devin Toner starting alongside Scotland's Nathan Hines at second row. Ireland trio Shane Jennings, Sean O'Brien and Rhys Ruddock make up the back row.
Shane Horgan, who scored two tries in the 34-26 victory over Ulster last weekend, is one of four Ireland internationals on the bench including Isaac Boss, Leo Cullen and Jonathan Sexton.

Form:Aironi's only Magners League victory so far came when the last Irish side visited Stadio Zaffanella – Connacht in round 18. Leinster gained their first Magners League try bonus point since New Year's Day during the 34-26 victory over Ulster at the RDS on Saturday. The Leinstermen have lost on two of their last three visits to Italy. The two teams have met just once before: at the RDS on round 14 when despite losing Aironi became one of only four visiting teams to come away from Dublin with a league point this season.

The teams:

Aironi: 15 Horacio San Martin 14 Kaine Robertson 13 Gilberto Pavan 12 Gabriel Pizarro 11 Danwel Demas 10 James Marshall 9 Tito Tebaldi, 8 Nick Williams, 7 Gareth Krause, 6 Josh Sole, 5 Marco Bortolami (c), 4 Joshua Furno, 3 Fabio Staibano, 2 Fabio Ongaro, 1 Alberto de Marchi.
Replacements: 16 Luigi Ferraro, 17 Salvatore Perugini, 18 Luca Redolfini, 19 Quintin Geldenhuys, 20 Nicola Cattina, 21 Pablo Canavosio, 22 Matteo Pratichetti, 23 Riccardo Bocchino.

Leinster: 15 David Kearney, 14 Fergus McFadden, 13 Brian O'Driscoll (c), 12 Eoin O'Malley, 11 Luke Fitzgerald, 10 Ian Madigan, 9 Eoin Reddan, 8 Sean O'Brien, 7 Shane Jennings, 6 Rhys Ruddock, 5 Nathan Hines, 4 Devin Toner, 3 Mike Ross, 2 Jason Harris-Wright, 1 Cian Healy.
Replacements:16 Richardt Strauss, 17 Heinke van der Merwe, 18 Stan Wright, 19 Leo Cullen, 20 Dominic Ryan, 21 Isaac Boss, 22 Jonathan Sexton, 23 Shane Horgan.

Date: Saturday, April 23
Venue: Stadio Zaffanella
Kick-off: 14:30 GMT
Referee: Andrew McMenemy