Pools for Wellington Sevens

Date published: December 15 2014

World Rugby has confirmed the pools for the New Zealand Sevens in Wellington, round four of the HSBC Sevens World Series on February 6-7.

After their Cup win at the third round of the Series in Port Elizabeth, South Africa are top seeds and head Pool A, while runners-up New Zealand, third-placed Australia and the fourth semi-finalist Argentina head the remaining pools.

The 2014/15 season carries added significance because the top-ranked sides after the ninth and final round in London in May 2015 will qualify directly for the Olympic Games in Rio in 2016.

Following the pool draw for round four of the Series, which was made before the Cup final at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium, South Africa head Pool A in Wellington and face USA, France and Japan.

Port Elizabeth runners-up New Zealand and defending series champions will play England, as well as Canada and Papua New Guinea in Pool B.

Australia head Pool C as the third-placed team in South Africa and face second in the standings Fiji, Wales and Port Elizabeth Shield winners Portugal.

Argentina, meanwhile, will play Scotland, Kenya and Samoa.

Wellington Pools

Pool A: South Africa, USA, France, Japan
Pool B: New Zealand, England, Canada, Papua New Guinea
Pool C: Australia, Fiji, Wales, Portugal
Pool D: Argentina, Scotland, Kenya, Samoa

With thanks to World Rugby