Pools for Nelson Mandela Bay Sevens

Date published: December 8 2014

World Rugby has confirmed the pool draw for the Nelson Mandela Bay Sevens, round three of the HSBC Sevens World Series 2014/15.

The tournament will be held in Port Elizabeth on 13-14 December.

After their Cup win at the second round of the Series in Dubai, hosts South Africa are top seeds and head Pool A, while runners-up Australia, third-placed Fiji and the fourth semi-finalist New Zealand head the remaining pools.

The 2014/15 season carries added significance because the top-ranked sides after the ninth and final round in London in May 2015 will qualify directly for the Olympic Games in Rio in 2016.

Following the pool draw for round three of the Series, which was made before the Cup final at the Sevens Stadium, South Africa – who won this tournament last year – head Pool A in Port Elizabeth and face Wales, USA and Kenya.

Dubai runners-up Australia will play Argentina, as well as Portugal and Zimbabwe in Pool B.

Series leaders Fiji head Pool C as the third-placed team in Dubai and face Scotland, France and Dubai Shield winners Canada.

The reigning Series champions New Zealand, meanwhile, will play England, who they beat in the Dubai quarter finals, Samoa and Japan.

Pools for Nelson Mandela Bay Sevens

Pool A: South Africa, Wales, USA and Kenya
Pool B: Australia, Argentina, Portugal, Zimbabwe
Pool C: Fiji, Scotland, France, Canada
Pool D: New Zealand, England, Samoa, Japan.

With thanks to World Rugby