Pools for Glasgow Sevens

Date published: April 5 2015

World Rugby has confirmed the pool draw for the Glasgow Sevens, round eight of the 2014/15 Sevens World Series on 9-10 May.

After claiming a first title in more than two years, England are top seeds and head Pool A, while runners-up South Africa, third-placed Fiji and fourth semi-finalist Canada lead the remaining pools.

England will face France, Australia – the side they climbed above in the standings after victory in Tokyo to occupy the fourth spot in the race for Olympic qualification – and the 2015/16 series' new core side Russia in Pool A.

Current series leaders South Africa face 2014 Glasgow Sevens champions New Zealand, Samoa and Kenya in Pool B at Scotstoun Stadium in Glasgow.

Fiji, four points behind the Blitzboks in the standings with two rounds remaining, will face hosts Scotland, Wales and Portugal in Pool C, while Canada await Japan, USA and Argentina in Pool D.

Glasgow Sevens Pools

Pool A: England, France, Australia, Russi
Pool B: South Africa, New Zealand, Samoa, Kenya
Pool C: Fiji, Scotland, Wales, Portugal
Pool D: Canada, Japan, USA, Argentina

With thanks to World Rugby