Pool draw for Glasgow Sevens

Date published: April 10 2014


The IRB has confirmed the pools and match schedule for round eight of the Sevens World Series, the Glasgow Sevens on May 3-4.

The International Rugby Board has confirmed the pools and schedule for round eight of the Sevens Series, the Glasgow Sevens on May 3-4, 2014.

The draw was made just before the final in Hong Kong, where New Zealand overcame England to capture their third Cup title of the current season.

Included in the draw for Glasgow – and London – are Japan, who won through the tough 12-team qualifier competition in Hong Kong to secure promotion as a core team in next season.

As the Hong Kong champions, New Zealand will start in Pool A in Glasgow and face a mouth-watering tie with closest Series rivals South Africa, as well as Samoa and Portugal.

As the Hong Kong runners-up England head Pool B and will play matches on day one in Glasgow against Canada, France and newly-promoted Japan.
Fiji face Wales, Argentina and Kenya in Pool C and Australia will face USA, tournament hosts Scotland and Spain in Pool D.

Pools for Glasgow Sevens

Pool A: New Zealand, South Africa, Samoa, Portugal
Pool B: England, Canada, France, Japan
Pool C: Fiji, Wales, Argentina, Kenya
Pool D: Australia, United States, Scotland, Spain

With thanks to the IRB