Pocock in as Wallabies change seven

Date published: July 23 2015

Michael Cheika has rung the changes in his Australia side with seven in total for the clash with Argentina in Mendoza on Saturday.

In one of three changes in the forwards, Reds veteran Greg Holmes will start for the green and gold for the first time since 2007 against Canada, while Western Force stalwart Ben McCalman returns for his first appearance of the 2015 international season at number eight.

The final change in the pack sees David Pocock come in to the starting line up at openside flanker with Michael Hooper named on the reserves bench.

In the backs, Waratahs scrum-half Nick Phipps and Brumbies centre Matt Toomua replace the injured Will Genia and Matt Giteau, while Joe Tomane comes in for the injured Rob Horne on the wing.

Waratahs pivot Bernard Foley replaces Quade Cooper in the starting lineup, with Cheika keen to give plenty of players a chance in the build-up to the World Cup.

"We are fortunate with the level of depth in the squad to be able to cover for the injuries we sustained last Saturday night against the Springboks," said Cheika. 

"They all deserve their start against los Pumas and they now have an opportunity to build on the performance last week and stake their claims.

"We have two fine playmakers in Quade and Bernard. Both players can make an enormous impact on our team."

There are also some new faces on the bench, with both Nic White and Kurtley Beale included after missing out last week.

Dean Mumm’s decision to return home has paid dividends, as he is set to rejoin the international arena. The 31-year-old is the last of the new faces included on the bench after his return to Australia from Exeter, coming in for James Horwill.

"We know Argentina will provide a physical challenge in this match, and our reserves will have a significant role to play," added Cheika.

"Last week they (the bench) got us home against the Springboks, and I will be looking forward to an even a greater impact from our players entering game this weekend."

Argentina won the last clash between the two sides, a 21-17 win in the final game of the 2014 Rugby Championship, also in Mendoza.

Australia: 15 Israel Folau, 14 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Matt Toomua, 11 Joe Tomane, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Ben McCalman, 7 David Pocock, 6 Scott Fardy, 5 Rob Simmons, 4 Will Skelton, 3 Greg Holmes, 2 Stephen Moore (c), 1 James Slipper
Replacements: 16 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 17 Scott Sio, 18 Sekope Kepu, 19 Dean Mumm, 20 Michael Hooper, 21 Nic White, 22 Quade Cooper, 23 Kurtley Beale

Date: Saturday, 25 July
Venue: Estadio Malvinas, Mendoza
Kick-off: 19:40 local (22:40 GMT, 8:40 AEST, 10:40 NZST, 00:40 SAST)
Referee: Jaco Peyper (South Africa)
Assistant Referees: Chris Pollock (New Zealand), Stuart Berry (South Africa)
TMO: Shaun Veldsman (South Africa)