Northland end two-year losing run

Date published: October 2 2016

Northland ended a two-year losing streak when they claimed a 48-27 victory over Waikato in Whangarei on Sunday.

In an entertaining affair, Northland outscored their visitors by five tries to four and the result takes them off the bottom of the Mitre 10 Cup's Championship table.

This was their first win since they beat North Harbour on October 3, 2014.

Peter Breen was the home side's hero as he contributed 23 points, courtesy of five penalties and four conversions. 

Northland made a superb start and raced into a 25-3 lead thanks to Breen's accuate goalkicking and tries from Jordan Hyland, Phil Kite and Matt Matich.

Waikato's only points during that time came via a Jordan Trainor penalty and he soon crossed the whitewash for their opening try.

Shortly afterwards, Northland secured their bonus point when Jone Macilai scored their fourth try. This gave the hosts a comfortable 32-8 lead at half-time.

The visitors struck back with tries from Iliesa Ratuva Tavuyara and Sefo Kautai but three penalties from Breen meant Northland led 41-22 with 10 minutes to play and they secured victory with a late Dan Hawkins try.

The scorers:

For Northland:
Hyland, Kite, Matich, Macilai, Hawkins
Cons: Breen 4
Pens: Breen 5

For Waikato:
Ratuva, Kautai, Trainor, Douglas
Con: Trainor
Pens: Trainor 2

Northland: 15 Solomona Alaimalo, 14 Jordan Hyland, 13 Warren Dunn, 12 Daniel Hawkins, 11 Jone Macilai, 10 Peter Breen, 9 Malcolm MacLeod, 8 Matt Matich, 7 Kara Pryor, 6 Mike Faleafa, 5 Shane Neville, 4 Tom Robinson, 3 Phil Kite, 2 Matt Moulds, 1 Namatahi Waa
Replacements: 16 Ross Wright, 17 Howard Silioto, 18 Matt Talaese, 19 Josh Larsen, 20 Aorangi Stokes, 21 Matty Markwick, 22 Tamati Tua, 23 Waisea Lawebuka

Waikato: 15 Jordan Trainor, 14 Iliesa Ratuva Tavuyara, 13 Willis Halaholo, 12 Tevita Taufui, 11 Sevu Reece, 10 Sam Christie, 9 Harrison Levien, 8 Whetu Douglas (c), 7 Murray Iti, 6 Jordan Manihera, 5 Leva Fifita, 4 Jacob Skeen, 3 Sefo Kautai, 2 Hame Faiva, 1 Tau Koloamatangi
Replacements: 16 Steven Misa, 17 Latu Talakai, 18 Josh Iosefa-Scott, 19 Mitch Jacobson, 20 Adam Burn, 21 Pele Cowley, 22 Jason Robertson, 23 Milford Keresoma

Referee: Shane McDermott