No further sanction for Lowe

Date published: May 3 2015

1022.6666666666666x767__origin__0x0_Chiefs_wing_James_Lowe_yellow_carded

Chiefs left wing James Lowe has had no further sanction imposed by the SANZAR Duty Judicial Officer after receiving his third yellow card of 2015.

Lowe saw yellow in the Chiefs' 16-15 loss to the Rebels in Melbourne on Saturday for lashing out with his knee at Rebels centre Tamati Ellison.

But following a hearing on Sunday, SANZAR Duty Judicial Officer Nicholas Davidson QC has ruled that no further action was required in this matter.

"James Lowe received yellow cards in Round 3 (tackling a player in the air), in Round 4 (dangerous tackle) and in Round 12 (a strike with the knee)," he said.

"Application of Rule 6.1 requires consideration of the circumstances of each yellow card. Possible sanction is based upon repeat breaches and three such incidents are a pre-requisite to any sanction.

"The second yellow card was effectively, but not formally, set aside by the review conducted by the SANZAR Referee Performance Management Team, and supported by the World Rugby Referee Selection Committee. They considered that this tackle was legitimate and the yellow card was wrongly issued.

"The Judicial Officer would not lightly override those conclusions which means in this case, Lowe has in substance committed two yellow card offences. He did not therefore come up for possible sanction under Rule 6.1. The yellow cards in Round 3 and 12 remain on his record this season.

"The yellow card in Round 12 was not the subject of a citing and does not call for consideration as such."

COMMENTS