Newcastle defeat Exeter for first win

Date published: October 5 2014

Newcastle picked up their first Premiership win since October 2013 with a tense 29-24 victory over Exeter Chiefs on Sunday.

Newcastle picked up their first Premiership win since October 2013 with a tense 29-24 victory over Exeter Chiefs on Sunday.

The Falcons went into the game only off of the foot of the table by points difference, but Dean Richards’ side showed commendable resilience coming from behind to hand Exeter just their second loss of the campaign.

The hosts made two changes from their last outing but fell behind early on with Chiefs captain Jack Yeandle notching the first try of the afternoon after just five minutes. The hooker touching down after good line-out work from the visitors.

Two penalties followed from the boot of Newcastle fly-half Juan Pablo Sicino before Rob Baxter’s side struck again.

Flanker Ben White was the scorer, making the most of a mistake by Falcons full-back Alex Tait, but with the conversion missed, Sinoti Sinoti was able to restore Newcastle’s lead soon after.

The Samoan winger went in after good work down the blindside, Sicino was unable to convert from out wide but did extend the lead four minutes later with a simple penalty.

That appeared to be final score of the half but with just seconds remaining Henry Slade took a neat pass from Gareth Steenson to give the Chiefs a one point lead at the interval.

The lead was extended to seven points with twelve minutes remaining before Newcastle turned the screw.

Firstly replacement Tom Catterick crossed to level the scores before Noah Cato streaked away to finish in the corner just two minutes later.

The hosts held firm late on to claim their first league win of the campaign and leave Exeter with just a losing bonus point to comfort them on the long trip back to the West Country.

The scorers:

For Newcastle:
Tries: Sinoti, Catterick, Cato
Con: Socino
Pens: Socino 4

For Exeter:
Tries: Yeandle, White, Slade
Pens: Steenson 3

Newcastle: 15 Alex Tait, 14 Sinoti Sinoti, 13 Gonzalo Tiesi, 12 Adam Powell, 11 Noah Cato, 10 Juan Pablo Socino, 9 Ruki Tipuna, 8 Ally Hogg, 7 Will Welch (c), 6 Mark Wilson, 5 Dom Barrow, 4 Calum Green, 3 Scott Wilson, 2 Scott Lawson, 1 Kieran Brookes
Replacements: 16 Rob Hawkins, 17 Alex Rogers, 18 Oliver Tomaszczyk, 19 Josh Furno, 20 Richard Mayhew, 21 Mike Blair, 22 Rory Clegg, 23 Tom Catterick

Exeter: 15 Phil Dollman, 14 Tom James, 13 Henry Slade, 12 Ian Whitten, 11 Matt Jess, 10 Gareth Steenson, 9 Will Chudley, 8 Thomas Waldrom, 7 Ben White, 6 Dave Ewers, 5 Damian Welch, 4 Don Armand, 3 Tomas Francis, 2 Jack Yeandle (c), 1 Ben Moon
Replacements: 16 Elvis Taione, 17 Carl Rimmer, 18 Moray Low, 19 Ryan Caldwell, 20 Kai Horstmann, 21 Haydn Thomas, 22 Sam Hill, 23 Chrysander Botha

Referee: Tim Wigglesworth
Assistant Referees: Roy Maybank, Paul Dix
TMO: David Grashoff