New Zealand thrash France to make final

Date published: June 15 2015

New Zealand thrashed France to advance to the U20 World Championship Final with a 45-7 victory on Monday.

The class of New Zealand's Super Rugby trio was obvious throughout as Tevita Li and Akira Ioane from the Blues finished with three and two tries each, with Hurricanes fly-half Otere Black adding 21 points with the boot.

France claimed the first try of the match when their powerful maul crashed over for Clément Castets to touch down, converted by Thomas Ramos.

New Zealand hit back though with one of the tries of the tournament with Li finishing off a passing move, before TJ Faiane was denied a try by the TMO after a high tackle in the build-up from Anton Leinert-Brown.

It was only a blip in an impressive performance from the Baby Blacks, with Ioane powering over before Li cut a fine line from deep to carve through and stretch the lead.

Ioane then made his presence felt off the back of the scrum to seal his second try for New Zealand to go into half-time ahead 31-7.

Damien Penaud couldn't find Alexandre Pilati with the final pass for a French try after the break before Li wrapped up his hat-trick to make him the highest try scorer ever in the U20 World Championship.

France kept New Zealand at bay for most of the second half before Jack Goodhue raced away to score their sixth try and wrap up a memorable semi-final triumph.

They will now wait to see whether it will be England or South Africa that they face in the final.

The scorers:

For New Zealand:
Tries: Li 3, Ioane 2, Jack Goodhue
Cons: Black 6
Pens: Black

For France:

Tries: Castets

Cons: Ramos

New Zealand: 15 Mitchell Hunt, 14 Jack Goodhue, 13 Anton Lienert-Brown, 12 TJ Faiane, 11 Tevita Li, 10 Otere Black, 9 Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, 8 Akira Ioane, 7 Blake Gibson, 6 James Blackwell, 5 Hamish Dalzell, 4 Joshua Goodhue, 3 Atunaisa Moli (c), 2 Liam Polwart, 1 Ricky Riccitelli
Replacements: 16 Steven Misa, 17 Isileli Tu'ungafasi, 18 Tau Koloamatangi, 19 Mitchell Dunshea, 20 Henry Stowers, 21 Harrison Levien, 22 Vincent Tavae-Aso, 23 George Bridge

France: 15 Thomas Ramos, 14 Alexandre Pilati, 13 Damien Penaud, 12 Elliot Roudil, 11 Lucas Blanc, 10 Lucas Meret, 9 Anthony Méric, 8 Fabien Sanconnie, 7 Lucas Bachelier (c), 6 Sekou Macalou, 5 Mathieu Tanguy, 4 Tristan Labouteley, 3 Clément Castets, 2 Julien Marchand, 1 Thibaut Estorge
Replacements: 16 Camille Chat, 17 Alain Paiva, 18 Quentin Bethune, 19 Jullien Delannoy, 20 Judicael Cancoriet, 21 Gauthier Doubrère, 22 Thomas Fortunel, 23 Arthur Bonneval