New Zealand cruise into last four

Date published: June 10 2015

New Zealand booked their spot in the U20 World Championship semi-finals with a 25-3 win over Ireland.

Ireland dominated the early exchanges but struggled to break through, with New Zealand penalised on a number of occasions but never looking like conceding a try.

Joey Carbery missed two tough kicks at goal before finding his radar with a third shot to put Ireland up 3-0 after quarter of an hour.

That was as good as it got for the Irish though, with New Zealand responding through two tries for Tevita Li either side of half-time both converted by Otere Black to stamp their dominance on the contest.

Li's first score came as he finished off an easy overlap, with the second from the Blues back stemming from him breaking a tackle in midfield and then speeding away.

Blake Gibson's try just after half-time snuffed out any hope that Ireland may have had of clinching a famous win as he powered over from close range.

The Baby Blacks failed to add anymore points from 25-3 up but they knew the job was done, winning Pool C by six points.

They will now take on Pool A winners France in the semi-finals, as they seek to win a first title since 2011, the last time the tournament was hosted by Italy.

The scorers:

For New Zealand:
Tries: Li 2, Gibson
Cons: Black 2
Pens: Black 2

For Ireland:
Pen: Carbery

New Zealand: 15 Luteru Laulala, 14 Tevita Li, 13 Jack Goodhue, 12 Nathaniel Apa, 11 Vincent Tavae-Aso, 10 Otere Black, 9 Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, 8 Akira Ioane, 7 Blake Gibson, 6 James Blackwell, 5 Hamish Dalzell, 4 Joshua Goodhue, 3 Atunaisa Moli (c), 2 Liam Polwart, 1 Isileli Tu'ungafasi.
Replacements: 16 Ricky Riccitelli, 17 Aidan Ross, 18 Tau Koloamatangi, 19 Mitchell Dunshea, 20 Henry Stowers, 21 Harrison Levien, 22 TJ Faiane, 23 Mitchell Hunt.

Ireland: 15 Billy Dardis, 14 Jack Owens, 13 Garry Ringrose, 12 Sam Arnold, 11 Jacob Stockdale, 10 Joey Carbery, 9 Nick McCarthy, 8 Lorcan Dow, 7 Rory Moloney, 6 Josh Murphy, 5 Alex Thompson, 4 David O'Connor, 3 Oisin Heffernan, 2 Zack McCall, 1 Andrew Porter.
Replacements: 16 Sean McNulty, 17 Liam O'Connor, 18 Conan O'Donnell, 19 Cian Romaine, 20 Stephen McVeigh, 21 Charlie Rock, 22 Tomás Quinlan, 23 Fergal Cleary.