New front row for Lions

Date published: May 18 2017

The Lions coaches have made three changes for the Bulls encounter this weekend, with a new front row of Jacques van Rooyen, Malcolm Marx and Ruan Dreyer in the starting line-up.

The Lions are returning from Australia, winning all three their Super Rugby matches on tour and becoming the first ever South African team to do so.

The rest of the Lions’ starting XV is unchanged although there are alterations to the bench, with Cyle Brink wearing the number 20 jersey.

Faf de Klerk, the other change to the bench, has had his move to Sale Sharks confirmed by the Lions.

“Faf is still very important in our Super Rugby campaign as he plays a vital role in our squad system. The player made a personal request to be released to further his career abroad and we felt we couldn’t stand in his way. We also couldn’t match the offer he received,” said Rudolf Straeuli, CEO of the LRC.

Lions: 15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Sylvian Mahuza, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Harold Vorster, 11 Courtnall Skosan, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Ross Cronje, 8 Warren Whiteley (c), 7 Ruan Ackermann, 6 Kwagga Smith, 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Andries Ferreira, 3 Ruan Dreyer, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Jacques van Rooyen
Replacements: 16 Akker van der Merwe, 17 Corné Fourie, 18 Johannes Jonker, 19 Lourens Erasmus, 20 Cyle Brink, 21 Faf de Klerk, 22 Jacques Nel, 23 Anthony Volmink

Date: Saturday, May 20
Venue: Emirates Airline Park, Johannesburg
Kick-off: 17:15 local (15:15 GMT)
Referee: Quinton Immelman
Assistant Referees: AJ Jacobs, Pro Legoete
TMO: Marius Jonker