Namibia name 50-man RWC squad

Date published: June 22 2015

The Namibian Rugby Union have named a 50-man preliminary training squad from which the final team of 31 players for the 2015 Rugby World Cup in England in September and October will be selected.

The group includes 15 players with World Cup experience while five players, prop Johnnie Redelinghuys, lock Nico Esterhuyze, loose forwards Jacques Burger and Thinus du Plessis as well as scrum-half Eugene Jantjies participated in the 2007 and 2011 tournaments in France and New Zealand respectively.

The group is made up of the 27 players currently representing Namibia at the Nations Cup in Bucharest, Romania as well as a number of UK and South Africa based players who could not travel to Romania due to commitments with their franchises, provinces and clubs.

They are Jacques Burger (Saracens – UK), Chrysander Botha (Exeter Chiefs – UK), Renaldo Bothma (Sharks – SA), Torsten van Jaarsveld (Free State Cheetahs – SA) and Danie Dames (Griquas – SA). A number of players recovering from injury including NWU-PUKKE’s centre Johan Deysel, were also included.

In addition National team coach Danie Vermeulen rewarded good form in the Vodacom Cup with a call-up to the preliminary training squad for a number of young players who are pushing for a place in the 31-man World Cup squad.

The preliminary trying group will assemble in Windhoek in early July to prepare for the two Test matches against Russia in the Namibian capital on the 11th and 18th of July respectively.

Namibia RWC training squad

Forwards: Johannes Coetzee, AJ de Klerk, Shaun du Preez, Jaco Engels, Rahul Larson, Johnnie Redelinghuys, Casper Viviers, Rathony Becker, Shaun Esterhuysen, Callie Swanepoel, Lous van der Westhuizen, Torsten van Jaarsveld, DG Wiese, Morne Blom, Ulrich Engels, Nico Esterhuyze, Tjiuee Uanivi, Zane Botes, Renaldo Bothma, Jacques Burger, Wian Conradie, Leneve Damans, Thinus du Plessis, Thomsua Forbes, Rohan Kitshoff, Roderique Victor, Christo van der Merwe, PJ van Lill, Janco Venter.

Backs: Arthur Bouwer, Eneil.Buitendag, Eugene Jantjies, Damian Stevens, Ethan Beukes, Theuns Kotze, Shaun Kalzemi, Daniel Arries, Darryl de la Harpe, Johan Deysel, JC Greyling, Heinrich Smit, Danie van Wyk, Tuna Amutenya, Danie Dames, Conrad Marias, David Philander, Russel van Wyk, Chrysander Botha, Divan Roussow, Johan Tromp.