Munster take five at Zebre

Date published: January 10 2015

Munster claimed a bonus-point victory over Zebre at Stadio XXV Aprile on Saturday, running out comfortable 31-7 winners in the PRO12 fixture.

The visitors headed into the game in inconsistent form, while Zebre were looking to respond after suffering back to back defeats against Treviso.

And Munster took the game by the scruff of the neck towards the end of the first-half to take the contest away from their hosts. Ian Keatley booted Munster in front with a penalty in the ninth minute and they went ten in front quickly after when Pat Howard broke the line before feeding Felix Jones for the try, which Keatley converted.

Munster struck a hammer blow on 30 minutes when CJ Stander powered over after the visitors had been given the advantage following a scrum.

Keatley added the extras and he was on target with the conversion two minutes later when Conor Murray bashed and crashed his way over next to the posts.

That challenge was made even greater just after half-time when Simon Zebo crossed after Ronan O’Mahony had kicked through. Keatley added the extras to make it 0-31 with 30 minutes still on the clock.

With defeat assured, there was a danger that Munster would go on to rack up a big score, but Zebre rallied and they emerged from at least the final stages of the game with credit.

They got their rewards for an improved performance in the minutes that followed when the TMO confirmed a try after Oliviero Fabiani dived over. Luciano Orquera added the conversion, but that was as good as it got for the hosts on a disappointing afternoon.

The scorers:

For Zebre:
Try: Fabiani
Con: Orquera

For Munster:
Tries: Jones, Stander, Murray, Zebo
Con: Keatley 4
Pen: Keatley

Zebre: 15 David Odiete, 14 Giovanbattista Venditti, 13 Tommaso Iannone, 12 Kelly Haimona, 11 Leonardo Sarto, 10 Edoardo Padovani, 9 Brendon Leonard, 8 Andries Van Schalkwyk, 7 Mauro Bergamasco, 6 Filippo Cristiano, 5 Marco Bortolami (c), 4 Quintin Geldenhuys, 3 Luca Redolfini, 2 Andrea Manici, 1 Andrea De Marchi.
Replacements: 16 Oliviero Fabiani, 17 Luciano Leibson, 18 Dario Chistolini, 19 Valerio Bernab