Munster nil Ospreys to go top

Date published: November 4 2016

Munster surged to an impressive 33-0 victory over the Ospreys in Cork on Friday to move provisionally top of the PRO12 standings.

The hosts had the better of the opening exchanges and were rewarded with an early score, Dave Kilcoyne scoring the first of his brace of tries after eight minutes.

This was before Darren Sweetnam touched down to make the score at the break 14-0.

The match was Munster's first in the league at Irish Independent Park since the death of Anthony Foley. They put on a second-half display befitting of the emotional occasion, Ronan O'Mahony and Robin Copeland scored tries while Kilcoyne completed his brace to secure an emphatic bonus-point victory.

The win sees the Irish side rise to the top of the PRO12 above provincial rivals Leinster. Meanwhile, Ospreys will be shell-shocked by a defeat by a side they would have seen as close rivals coming into the match but remain only two points behind Munster in third following the loss.

After eight minutes, Munster scored the first try of the match. Kilcoyne sniped over the line to score after a long spell of early Munster pressure. Tyler Bleyendaal successfully added the extras to make the early score 7-0.

The hosts scored their second try soon after, in the 14th minute Sweetnam scored out wide after another good spell of pressure. Bleyendaal converted to send the hosts into a 14-point lead.

Munster scored their third try after 54 minutes, O'Mahony seizing upon a loose ball before kicking through to touch down. Bleyendaal missed the conversion to leave the score at 19-0.

The bonus-point victory was secured in the 69th minute as Kilcoyne completed his brace. The try was scored in a similar fashion to his first, coming from close-range. Bleyendaal converted successfully once more, taking his side's lead to 26 points.

Munster completed the rout in the 78th minute, Copeland breaking off a five metre scrum to touch down. Bleyendaal was on target with the conversion to make the final score 33-0.

The scorers:

For Munster:
Tries: Kilcoyne 2, Sweetnam, O'Mahony, Copeland
Cons: Bleyendaal 4

Munster: 15 Andrew Conway, 14 Darren Sweetnam, 13 Jaco Taute, 12 Rory Scannell, 11 Ronan O'Mahony, 10 Tyler Bleyendaal, 9 Duncan Williams, 8 Jack O'Donoghue, 7 Tommy O'Donnell, 6 Peter O'Mahony (c), 5 Robin Copeland, 4 Darren O'Shea, 3 Stephen Archer, 2 Niall Scannell, 1 Dave Kilcoyne
Replacements: 16 Rhys Marshall, 17 Peter McCabe, 18 Brian Scott, 19 John Madigan, 20 Conor Oliver, 21 Abrie Griesel, 22 Ian Keatley, 23 Alex Wootton

Ospreys: 15 Dan Evans, 14 Keelan Giles, 13 Ben John, 12 Ashley Beck, 11 Eli Walker, 10 Josh Matavesi, 9 Tom Habberfield (c), 8 Joe Bearman, 7 Olly Cracknell, 6 Rob McCusker, 5 Adam Beard, 4 Lloyd Ashley, 3 Dmitri Arhip, 2 Sam Parry, 1 Paul James
Replacements: 16 Hugh Gustafson, 17 Gareth Thomas, 18 Ma’afu Fia, 19 Rhodri Jones, 20 Scott Otten, 21 Brendon Leonard, 22 Jonathan Spratt, 23 Dafydd Howells

Referee: Marius Mitrea (Italy)
Assistant Referees: Stefano Pennè (Italy), Oisin Quinn (Ireland)
TMO: Carlo Damasco (Italy)