Munster maul Treviso

Date published: November 26 2016

Munster moved to the top of the PRO12 standings with a thumping 46-3 victory over Treviso at Thomond Park on Saturday.

Munster were looking to shake off the rust after three weeks without a competitive match. Treviso got off to a good start with an Ian McKinley penalty. Tyler Bleyendaal quickly levelled the scores and Munster took control from there. 

Robin Copeland grabbed Munster's first try and Andrew Conway scored two to give the home side a 22-3 lead at half time. 

Darren O'Shea, Ronan O'Mahony and Alex Wooton bagged tries in the second half to put the game well beyond the visitor's reach. Bennetton Treviso hadn't won on the road since beating Scarlets in May 2013, whilst Munster were unbeaten at Thomond Park since Christmas 2015. 

Munster were pinged early for holding on and McKinley stepped up to give the visitors a 3-0 lead. Bleyendaal levelled the scores when Treviso were penalised for not releasing. Munster capitalised on a five metre scrum that saw Copeland go over for the game's first try. Bleyendaal added the extras to hand The Red Army a 10-3 lead. 

Conway went over in the corner as Munster grew into the game. This time Bleyendaal fluffed his lines with the conversion to restrict Munster's lead to 15-3. Conway found himself in space on the wing again and went over for his second. Bleyendaal nailed the conversion to give the home side a 22-3 lead at halftime. 

O'Shea scored his first ever try for Munster early in the second half and Bleyendaal dissected the posts with the conversion to make it 29-3. 

Treviso managed to steady the ship for a while but with 20 minutes left on the clock O'Mahony scored a fifth for the Irish. Wootton came on to grab a sixth for Munster on the 70 minute mark, Ian Keatley scored the conversion. O'Mahony went over for his second minutes later, Keatley's conversion attempt struck the upright but it mattered little as Munster went on to win 46-3.

The scorers:

For Munster:
Copeland, Conway 2, O'Shea, O'Mahony 2, Wootton
Cons: Bleyendaal 3, Keatley
Pen: Bleyendaal

For Treviso:
Pen: McKinley 

Munster: 15 Andrew Conway, 14 Darren Sweetnam, 13 Sammy Arnold, 12 Jaco Taute, 11 Ronan O’Mahony, 10 Tyler Bleyendaal, 9 Duncan Williams, 8 Robin Copeland, 7 Tommy O’Donnell (c), 6 Jack O’Donoghue, 5 Darren O’Shea, 4 Dave Foley, 3 John Ryan, 2 Rhys Marshall, 1 Dave Kilcoyne
Replacements: 16 Niall Scannell, 17 Thomas du Toit, 18 Stephen Archer, 19 Jean Kleyn, 20 Billy Holland, 21 Angus Lloyd, 22 Ian Keatley, 23 Alex Wootton

Treviso: 15 Jayden Hayward, 14 Michael Tagicakibau, 13 Tommaso Iannone, 12 Alberto Sgarbi(c), 11 Luca Sperandio, 10 Ian McKinley, 9 Tito Tebaldi, 8 Marco Barbini, 7 Filippo Ferrarini, 6 Marco Lazzaroni, 5 Michael Van Vuuren, 4 Filippo Gerosa, 3 Matteo Zanusso, 2 Luca Bigi, 1 Alberto De Marchi
Replacements: 16 Davide Giazzon, 17 Federico Zani, 18 Tiziano Pasquali, 19 Roberto Santamaria, 20 Federico Conforti, 21 Enrico Francescato, 22 Andrea Pratichetti, 23 David Odiete

Referee: Mike Adamson (Scotland)
Assistant Referees: Sam Grove-White (Scotland), Oisin Quinn (Ireland)