McCaw won’t face Hurricanes

Date published: April 28 2015

1022.6666666666666x767__origin__0x0_Richie_McCaw_on_the_ground

Crusaders flanker Richie McCaw has been ruled out of this week's clash with the Hurricanes due to a head knock he suffered against the Blues.

Head coach Todd Blackadder confirmed the news on Tuesday, with All Black captain McCaw having been knocked out in last Saturday's home fixture.

"He was a little bit blurry and felt a little bit off, so it's best not to risk him. When he came in and didn't feel quite a hundred [per cent] on Monday, we just ruled him out," he told stuff.co.nz.

"He just got his head on the wrong side and just got kneed in the temple. Even after the game he was really chipper and was fine, and even today, he was 100 per cent, but it's just not worth risking him.

"All signs are pretty positive. Hopefully, he's back for next week."

COMMENTS