McCaw back for Crusaders

Date published: May 6 2015

1022.6666666666666x767__origin__0x0_Richie_McCaw_Crusaders_v_Melbourne_Rebels_Super_Rugby_20151

Richie McCaw will make his return from a concussion problem after being named on the bench to face the Reds in Christchurch on Friday.

The All Black skipper will likely make his final appearance in Christchurch for the Crusaders, with the team set to play their last home game of the campaign in Nelson.

McCaw missed last week's defeat to the Hurricanes, having suffered a concussion a week earlier in the Crusaders' clash with the Blues.

It looks unlikely that the Crusaders will be able to play a home play-off game, so this will probably be farewell for both McCaw and Dan Carter, who continues at inside centre.

Todd Blackadder has made three changes in total to his starting side, with Nafi Tuitavake coming onto the wing, while Dominic Bird and Nepo Laulala start in the pack at lock and tighthead respectively.

Jone Macilai joins McCaw on the bench and could make his first Super Rugby appearance if he comes on.

Crusaders: 15 Tom Taylor, 14 Nafi Tuitavake, 13 Ryan Crotty, 12 Dan Carter, 11 Nemani Nadolo, 10 Colin Slade, 9 Andy Ellis, 8 Kieran Read (captain), 7 Matt Todd, 6 Jordan Taufua, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Dominic Bird, 3 Nepo Laulala, 2 Codie Taylor, 1 Wyatt Crockett.
Replacements: 16 Ben Funnell, 17 Alex Hodgman, 18 Joe Moody, 19 Jimmy Tupou, 20 Richie McCaw, 21 Mitchell Drummond, 22 Kieron Fonotia, 23 Jone Macilai.

Date: Friday, May 8
Venue: AMI Stadium, Christchurch
Kick-off: 19:35 local (07.35 GMT, 17:35 AEST, 09:35 SAST)
Referee: Mike Fraser (New Zealand)
Assistant Referees: Nick Briant (New Zealand), Paul Williams (New Zealand)
TMO: Vinny Munro (New Zealand)

COMMENTS