Makos hammer Waikato

Date published: October 2 2013

Tasman scored eight tries en route to a fine 64-28 victory over Waikato in the ITM Cup at Trafalgar Park in Nelson on Wednesday.

Tasman scored eight tries en route to an impressive 64-28 victory over Waikato in their meeting in Nelson.

In-form sharpshooter Marty Banks contributed 24 of the Makos' points via the kicking tee, with tries coming from Mitchell Scott, Robbie Malneek, Tom Marshall, Joe Wheeler, Liam Squire (2), James Lowe and Tevita Koloamatagi on Wednesday.

In reply the Mooloo men mustered scores from Vance Elliott, Latu Talakai, Josh Tyrell and Toby Smith. Trent Renata kicked four conversions.

That try bonus-point lifts Waikato above Taranaki on points difference ahead of key games against relegation rivals Bay of Plenty and the 'Naki.

Tasman meanwhile move seven points clear at the top of the ITM Cup Championship ahead of Hawke's Bay's game against Southland in Invercargill on Thursday.

The scorers:

For Tasman:
Tries: Scott, Malneek, Marshall, Wheeler, Squire 2, Lowe, Koloamatangi
Con: Banks 6
Pen: Banks 4

For Waikato:
Tries: Elliott, Talakai, Tyrell, Smith
Con: Renata 4

Tasman: 15 Robbie Malneek, 14 Mitchell Scott, 13 Kieron Fonotia, 12 Tom Marshall, 11 James Lowe, 10 Marty Banks, 9 Billy Guyton, 8 Liam Squire, 7 Shane Christie (c), 6 Tevita Koloamatagi, 5 Joe Wheeler, 4 Alex Ainley, 3 Sila Puafisi, 2 Quentin Macdonald, 1 Tim Perry.
Replacements: 16 Francis Smith, 17 Siua Halanukonuka, 18 Tevita Cavubati, 19 George Stowers, 20 Mark Swanepoel, 21 Andy Symons, 22 Bryce Heem.

Waikato: 15 Trent Renata (c), 14 Kylem O'Donnell, 13 Dylan Collier, 12 Falelima Siinei, 11 Semisi Masirewa, 10 Sam Christie, 9 Mick Snowden, 8 Jono Armstrong, 7 Zak Hohneck, 6 Zane Kapeli, 5 Sam Kilgour, 4 Whetu Douglas, 3 Paul Alo-Emile, 2 Vance Elliott, 1 Latu Talakai.
Replacements: 16 Hame Faiva, 17 Toby Smith, 18 Josh Tyrell, 19 Nick Ross, 20 Brad Weber, 21 Save Tokula, 22 Niko Malo.