Makos halt Taranaki’s run

Date published: September 3 2016

Tasman claimed their second victory of the Mitre 10 Cup season on Saturday as they ended Taranaki’s unbeaten start, winning 25-20.

The Makos were trailing 6-13 at the break after All Black centre Seta Tamanivalu had scored for Taranaki with Marty McKenzie kicking eight points.

And when Beaudein Waaka crossed for the visitors’ second try nine mintues after the interval to make it 9-20, it wasn’t looking good for Tasman.

But then the boot of Marty Banks, who scored 20 points off the tee, coupled by a lovely try from Kieron Fonotia, saw Tasman claw their way back into the game as Taranaki could not respond, leaving them shell-shocked.

The scorers:

For Tasman:
Try: Fonotia
Con: Banks
Pens: Banks 6

For Taranaki:
Tries: Waaka, Tamanivalu
Cons: McKenzie 2
Pens: McKenzie 2

Tasman: 15 Mitchell Hunt, 14 Tima Faingaanuku, 13 Kieron Fonotia, 12 Alex Nankivell, 11 James Lowe, 10 Marty Banks, 9 Finlay Christie, 8 Vernon Fredericks, 7 Shane Christie (c), 6 Pete Samu, 5 Quinten Strange, 4 Shannon Frizell, 3 Ross Geldenhuys, 2 Andrew Makalio, 1 Tim Perry
Replacements: 16 Jesse MacDonald, 17 Kane Hames, 18 Blair Prinsep, 19 Jeff Lepa, 20 Tevita Koloamatangi, 21 Billy Guyton, 22 Trael Joass, 23 Jesse Pitman-Joass

Taranaki: 15 Marty McKenzie, 14 Beaudein Waaka, 13 Seta Tamanivalu, 12 Sean Wainui, 11 Manasa Mataele, 10 Stephen Perofeta, 9 Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, 8 Iopu Iopu-Aso, 7 Berny Hall, 6 Mitchell Crosswell (c), 5 Leon Power, 4 Ben Matwijow, 3 Ryan Cocker, 2 Rhys Marshall, 1 Mitchell Graham
Replacements: 16 Sione Lea, 17 Reuben O’Neill, 18 Mike Kainga, 19 Mitchell Brown, 20 Toa Halafihi, 21 Kylem O’Donnell, 22 Johnny Fa’auli, 23 Declan O’Donnell

Referee: Brendon Pickerill